Uncategorized

Day 3. It was touch and go this morning when my alarm, a.k.a., Jimmy, said it was 7:15 a.m. – time to get out of bed and get to the gym. After a bit of waffling and arguing (with myself) about whether it would be better to stay in my nice, warm bed and get a little more sleep, or, go out into the cold, frigid air to drive to the gym and workout, I finally gave in and rolled out of bed. To win this argument with myself I used a tactic I read about in O Magazine. The question was not whether I wanted to get up (I knew that answer), the question was whether I needed to get up (I knew that answer too). Still, I struggled to actually make it out the door, but once we were in the car there was no turning back. We warmed up on the treadmill, then weights, jump rope, and sit ups. I felt good about myself until I got home and dressed for work, then the meltdown happened. My pants are too tight! While having my mini-meltdown (I will spare you the description), I tired to soothe myself with one of my favorite mantras “Haba na haba hujaza kibaba” (Kiswahili for “Little by little fills the cup”). I had brought the “Haba” towel to the gym with me this morning, but it appeared I would need to keep its message in mind all day long. I hope your Day 3 has been filled with triumphs (big and/or small). At the end of the day, I still get a star on my calendar for making it to the gym today. Yay! Let me know how you are doing.

Jimmy’s Day 3: Up early, well early for me, and ready to go. Warmed up on the treadmill, did some weights, sit ups, and I can feel it now.

