Uncategorized

Day 6 of a girl and guy's 365 day odyssey

We rocked the gym today.  After a day of rest, and after reading Greg’s posted comment about his gym “triumphs” yesterday, we entered the gym with a renewed sense of what we were there to achieve.  Greg (one of the partners of Inperspire and also my brother-in-law, a fine one I might add) is a goal setter, but what I didn’t know is that each time he goes to the gym he sets goals (his personal bests) for himself, e.g., yesterday he wanted to run a 10 minute mile on the treadmill, and he did it.  It helps me to read about how others achieve their fitness goals.  Please let me know if you have any tips for getting the most out of your gym time.

So we jogged on the treadmill (I started jogging after 6 minutes warm up, rather than my usual 10 minutes, which is a personal best for me), and we did weights, and sit ups (I also jumped rope).  It was a lot of fun and we felt great afterwards.  How did you do today?

Now, let’s talk about the new year (note Robert Burns’ image in this entry).  Did you know that Auld Lang Syne is attributed to Robert Burns, famed Scottish poet (late 18th century).  Byrnes was a collector of traditional folk songs, as well as a songwriter, and it is thought that Auld Lang Syne was adapted by Byrnes from his collections.  We will be singing Auld Lang Syne at midnightwe hope you’ll join us.

