Uncategorized

Day 49 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

Today is Lincoln’s birthday.  Yay!  Happy birthday Abe.  I have always loved Lincoln’s birthday.  When I was young we would spend hours drawing a silhoutte of Lincoln and when everyone was done the teacher would line the walls of our classroom with his silhouette.  Most people are familiar with Lincoln’s first inaugural address, however, his second inaugural address is perhaps his finest.  In this speech Lincoln appeals to a nation divided, still at war, and deeply in need of healing.  Here is a link to the text: Lincoln’s Second Inagural address.  Now, what does Lincoln have to do with exercise?  For me, Lincoln is a symbol of determination – determination in the face of adversity.  He believed that all humans are created free and equal and he pursued his mission with strength, determination and great character.  “I am a slow walker, but I never walk backwards.” ~Abraham Lincoln.

