Biggest Loser / cupcakes / James Brown / temptations

Day 89 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

Temptation.  On last night’s Biggest Loser the contestants were tempted by money and cupcakes.  The challenge was to ride 26.2 miles on a stationary bike in the fastest time – the winner would receive
 $10K.  The temptation…by eating a mini cupcake you could add five minutes to another contestant’s time.  Each cupcake was 100 calories.  I was not surprised by who chose to eat the cupcakes – who chose to sabotage their efforts to lose weight – who chose not to believe in themselves enough to realize that they might just be able to win on their own.  Watching some of the contestants give in to temptation, while others were steadfast in their resolution to lose weight, was meaningful to me.  For those who chose to forgo the temptation, losing weight and being healthy was more important to them than winning money – and that is because losing weight and being healthy feels good – it feels really good.  I have read a lot lately about will power.  Some researchers suggest that will power does not work.  After 89 days on our Odyssey to weight loss and healthy living, I agree with the researchers.  It’s not about will power or temptations, it’s about understanding that a cupcake or an extra helping of food cannot possibly make feel as good as being healthy.  As I get in better shape my clothes are fitting better and I am happier – and – in the words of James Brown, the godfather of soul, “Whoa-oa-oa, I feel good, I knew that I would now..”!  Feel good and have a wonderful Wednesday!

