Uncategorized

Day 90

Breakfast of Champions?
What are your breakfasts like?  Do you eat a breakfast fit for the athlete you are?  If the answer to the last question is no, ask yourself why.  Maybe your breakfasts have become a bit boring, if so, why not try something new to spice up your A.M. routine.  Last week I ate a vegge burger for breakfast, which is really out of the ordinary for me because I have a very strict set of foods that I consider breakfast, lunch, and dinner foods) and yet I loved it.  I felt good all day, I wasn’t hungry during the day, and I didn’t eat as much.  Of course, we hear that “breakfast is the most important meal of the day”, but what I usually hear is, “breakfast is yadayadayadayada” because for seem reason I seem to think that what the experts say about breakfast doesn’t apply to me (yes, I am the only human on earth that doesn’t need to eat breakfast).  Anyway, if you don’t already, try to give your breakfast some more thought.  Fuel yourself properly for your day so that your brain and body can function properly and you can be at the top of your game.  For those of you who like granola, I have a great recipe for a granola that we had while we were at the Grand Canyon several years ago.  It’s easy to make and will make you feel good all day long.  Have a super duper Thursday.
GRAND CANYON GRANOLA

Source: Western Breakfast & Brunch Recipes
Publisher: Golden West Publishers

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups ROLLED OATS
1 cup COCONUT FLAKES
1/2 cup WHEAT GERM
1/2 cup SESAME SEEDS
1/2 cup chopped ALMONDS
1/2 cup shelled SUNFLOWER SEEDS
1/2 cup HONEY
1/4 cup SALAD OIL
1/2 cup chopped DATES
1/2 cup RAISINS (we sometimes use cranberries, but with cherrries being the super food we will add cherries when I make this on Saturday)

In a large mixing bowl, combine oats, coconut, wheat germ, sesame seeds, almonds and sunflower seeds. When thoroughly mixed add honey and oil. Spread into a 13x9x2 inch baking pan and bake at 250 degree for 45 minutes. Stir every 15 minutes. Remove from the oven and stir in the dates and raisins. Allow mixture to cool, stirring occasionally to keep from sticking. Once cooled, place granola in a plastic container for storage.

Serve with milk or yogurt and fresh fruit.

