community work / healthy body / healthy mind / healthy spirit

Day 93 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

nataliedee.com
Do you crochet or knit?  Does this cartoon look all too familiar?  It did to me, which made me laugh all the more when I saw it!  So, you are probably saying to yourself right now, “how is she possibly going to relate yarn, crochet, or knitting to exercise?”  Good question!  Truth be told, I am not even going to try, although, if pressed, I think I could come up with a connection if given enough time 🙂

I am writing today to ask if you would like to join me in making scarves for women in need. While I was reading my Random Acts of Kindess newsletter the other day I came across this wonderful organization called Handmade Especially for You. This organization crochets and knits scarves for women (and children) in shelters. In 2009 they made and delivered over 6500 comfort scarves and they would like to double their efforts in 2010 – and that’s where you and I come in. I contacted Leslye Borden of Handmade and she said they would love our help. I am going to start crocheting scarves now and I thought it would be lovely to work on this with our healthy minded community. 

If you do not know how to crochet or knit perhaps now is the time to learn? What do you think? I will be using my own yarn and a very simple pattern like the easy double crochet pattern from the Handmade Especially for You site. Leslye provides the following tips for making the scarves:

1. Use soft yarn (for comfort).
2. Pick happy colors.
3. Make them four to five inches wide.
4. Make them at least 60 inches long.
5. Use open-weave stitch if possible (so they can be used in warm weather climates).
6. You can add some novelty yarn or ribbon to make them special.

The intention of making these scarves is to provide a gift of comfort.  Each scarf has a handmade tag where you sign your name (I have the template for the tags). If you are able to join me, just let me know.

I just thought of the connection between crocheting and knitting and health.  The act of crochet and knitting slows us down and allows our mind to become quiet and focused (it’s like coloring a mandala or a picture).  And of course we all know that happiness and good health go hand in hand. What could make us happier than helping someone else 🙂 

Healthy in mind, body, and spirit.

Have a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious Monday!

