resilence

Day 94 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

resilience ( \ri-ˈzil-yən(t)s\):

the physical property of a material that can return to its original shape or position after deformation that does not exceed its elastic limit. ~Merriam-Webster.

I have posted about being resilient before (Day 85) within the context of the first day of spring.  Now, here I am writing about resilience again so it must be something I haven’t quite learned yet, plus, Jimmy thought it might be a good idea for me to “revisit” the idea of resilience after my blogger “crash” of yesterday, which is really his way of saying I have “resilience issues” that need to be resolved 🙂

I have given my reaction to yesterday’s “crash”, which I liken to giving birth to a cow of a tantrum, but perhaps a whale of a tantrum is a more accurate comparison, some thought.  What I think is interesting is how one thing, one perturbation in an otherwise state of equilibrium can cause such a commotion in my life.  What I realized, besides the fact this blog means a lot to me because it has connected me to people I would not otherwise have known and it has connected me to a part of myself that I had not previously imagined, is that I live my life in a constant state of trying to stay in equilibrium.  Sound familiar?  I am constantly balancing how to get everything done and “be all that I can be” and once in awhile something comes along to let me know that I need to slow down a little bit and instead of trying to “be all that I can be” I should just try to “be”.  I hope that makes sense.  If you have experienced any small set-backs in your life lately, perhaps you have taken on something new, or, your work/home schedule has completely taken over your life and your workouts have been put on hold, just remember that you are resilient – that you have the ability to bounce back, to rebound, to leap forward as soon as you are ready to do so.

Happy and healthy in mind, body, and spirit.

P.S.  Our weather in St. Louis is finally warming up (again) so if you missed it the first time, and your weather permits, why not take the signs of spring worksheet with you today, enjoy the sites, and just “be”.

