running

Day 103 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

Are You a Tortoise or a Hare?
Do you run like the wind or is your pace more like a tortoise where you can record every detail from the things you pass along the way?  I fit the latter category, although Jimmy claims that I am getting “faster”.  We have some really great runners in this group.  Many of you post impressive times for your races and paces.  I am always amazed!  I am getting stronger, but running is still a struggle for me.  I often feel like the tortoise.  I know I will finish, the question is how long is it going to take me.  I have always wondered why I don’t run that fast.  Certainly, my short legs have something to do with not being able to run at Jimmy’s pace, but is it something more? You see, I have this pace, this speed at which I feel comfortable.  When I hit this pace I just feel good, James Brown good, but if I speed up a little bit or slow it down a bit things feel off kilter.  Do you know what I mean?  Even the fastest among us probably have their “personal favorite pace”.  Well, I might have an explanation…some of you know I am an archaeologist.  I study hunter-gatherers.  I came across this article while doing some research and it offers a possible explanation:

Optimal Running Speed Associated With Evolution Of Early Human Hunting Strategies

ScienceDaily (2009-03-30) — Runners, listen up: If your body is telling you that your pace feels a little too fast or a little too slow, it may be right. A new study shows that the efficiency of human running varies with speed and that each individual has an optimal pace at which he or she can cover the greatest distance with the least effort. Such efficient locomotion probably provided our ancestors with an advantage for hunting and gathering food. … > read full article

Anyway, it’s something to think about on a TGIF kind of day 🙂

More Fun Friday News

Look what Leslie at And Her Little Dog Too has cooked up…an Inperspire Giveaway Contest!  Her blog is just too awesome and Jackson modeling the towels…priceless.  We were thinking of having our friend Happy Bob as Inperspire’s Official Mascot of the month, because he is running his first marathon (St. Louis Marathon) this Sunday, but I think Jackson may have won the title this month.  What do you think?

By the way, Bob,  Big G little o – Go! Go!  We are behind you all the way 🙂

