little by little / you must eat an elephant

Day 106 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

Today’s post begins with a riddle.

How do you eat an elephant?

Answer:  One Bite At A Time.
You Must Eat An Elephant One Bite At A Time. ~Twi proverb
The meaning behind this proverb is a powerful one.  A big goal can be reached through a series of small “bites”.  It’s like Haba na Haba Hujaza Kibaba (little by little fills the cup).  When the distance between where I am now and where I want to be gets a bit overwhelming, I just say to myself, little by little fills the cup…or…one bite at a time.  Reminding myself that it’s the little steps that will take me there – really helps put whatever I am doing at that moment (struggling on the treadmill, trying to run an entire 5k, trying to run up a big hill, or getting through a weight workout) into perspective. 
Many of us have set some lofty and wonderful goals for oursevles: eating healthier, working out more, working out more consistently, incorporating weights, running, running faster, running longer, running a 5k, losing weight, toning up…our list is long and honorable 🙂  In the midst of all this goal setting and pushing through, it is easy to lose track of the beauty and wonder of the small goals we reach in our climb to the top.  You may not have reached your goal yet, you may still have a way to go, but don’t forget to enjoy the trip.
Happy Monday!  Happy Sweating!
4 thoughts on “Day 106 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

  1. Fashion – That is totally awesome! You really ran that thing. Challenges are only hard until we complete them – then they feel so good! Happy day to you 🙂

  2. Little by little….inch by inch…baby steps…it's all such a good way to look at accomplishing our goals. It all starts with mini-goals which is what I have learned to appreciate in this journey to a healthier me. It's those small things that truly add up!!!Well as far as the challenge went today..it ended up being paddle boats which was fun but I didn't do very good however we sure got a good laugh at me. The 3 other girls had no problem going straight but me well that was another story. Like that song goes "to the left, to the left." That was me..then to the right to the right. I weaved all over that darn lake.! (ha). After the challenge I went to the gym and did 2 miles. One of the miles I tried my hand at sprinting in 1 minute intervals. Hard but I learned alot about that. It was all good. Weigh in tomorrow!! Keep your fingers crossed. This is the one I need to make the FINALS. Oh my gosh!!!!!

Comments are closed.