Uncategorized

Day 119 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

“When you fall off a horse, you have to get right back on again.”

Between getting ready for the Seattle crew to arrive in St. Lou, the Expo, and the flu our workout and eating routines have taken a hit.  We are not discouraged, however, because after 119 days of focusing on our health we know that a temporary obstacle is just that – temporary.   We will rally, although my rallying will have to wait until tomorrow when I feel better, but Jimmy begins again today.  I found this article written by Bob Harper, Oprah’s personal trainer, with healthy reminders for all of us. 

bob greene

Over the past decade, I’ve noticed that people tend to make the same mistakes over and over again when it comes to losing weight and staying healthy. Luckily, you don’t have to follow in their footsteps.

1. They work out simply to burn calories. What matters more is exercise intensity. Vigorous exercise dulls your appetite, while moderate exercise stimulates it.

2. They strength train with two-pound dumbbells. Heavier weights will help you build bone mass. You should be able to complete only 8 to 10 repetitions of each exercise.

3. They substitute pie for the pie chart. Draw a circle and divide it into wedges, like a pie. Label each wedge with some aspect of your life—your finances, your kids, your spouse—then, using a plus or a minus sign, note whether each area is going well. Work on nurturing areas that you’re unhappy with, and your weight will be easier to control.

4. They aren’t aware of third-hand smoke. These foul-smelling toxins can linger on your hair, clothes, carpet, and furniture. Even if your partner isn’t lighting up inside the house, third-hand smoke can harm you and your family.

5. They keep eating until they go to bed. Make a hard-and-fast rule: no eating within two hours of bedtime.

6. They don’t pay attention to the hunger scale. Imagine a scale from one to five—one being full, and five being ravenous. If you’re hitting a three—your stomach’s grumbling, you’re physically dragging—it’s time to eat. Any lower than that, and you’re eating to fill an emotional need, not a physical one.

7. They don’t think about how relationships affect their motivation. If you’ve got a strong support network, you’re less likely to de-stress by crashing in front of the TV or eating poorly.

8. They think a finite goal is the only thing that matters. I’ve seen clients reach their goal weight, then gain it back once they realize that life isn’t suddenly perfect—even at a size 6. Make your goal to live a healthy life, no matter what’s on the scale.

9. They fall for the latest fad. A “cookie diet” is not a sound nutritional plan.

10. They underestimate the power of 80 percent. People tend to have an all-or-nothing attitude when it comes to living healthy. But if you can put these tips into practice even 80 percent of the time, you’re still going to be successful.

Have a fantastic Monday!

6 thoughts on “Day 119 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

  1. Goodness, everyone has been so busy. I just love this community! I thought I would reply to your comments on today’s post so I could get caught back up.

    Fashion – You have been a workout fiend while we have been gone. If my calculations are correct, you have worked out every day for the past 7 days – booyah! What did you think of the 30 day shred and disco abs dvds? Anything worth passing on?

    Diane – I cannot wait to see your color and cut from your makeover. I must admit, I am not a fan of change either. Now that a few days have passed, what do you think? Do you like the cut better? Tomorrow is your BIG weigh-in day. We are so excited for you!!!! You are the workout Queen, sister, and you can take that to the bank. We are pulling for you and are sending positive thoughts your “weigh” (couldn’t resist that one).

    Smith – You are right, we are exhausted, but reading everyone’s comments lifts our tired bones! We think you deserve a gold star for the “BE Peas” workout yesterday. Nothing better than moving to those beats. At the Expo they played one of my favorite workout songs over and over again so much so that it actually played in my head while I slept – so I am going to need a new “get your behind moving tune” and the Black Eye Peas may do the trick!

    Jody – We sold some “Jody” towels – that just makes me happy 🙂

  2. How exciting that you sold some Jody towles! Weight resistance is so important so glad to see you spreading the word! 🙂

    I loved your post today! Great advice!

    Awesome all weight workout today… abs/core too!

    Like your attitude… just get back to it. Sometimes life throws in obstacles but we can overcome!

  3. Love it!! I am so glad to be back home although I really miss our partners! Jody we loved that people loved your towel and we told many people about you!! I am running today hopefully 3.5 miles

  4. We are home in St. Louis, we had a 5 hour drive from Chicago in the hard rain and wind, but not a bad drive. Today no workout for me, I have orders to ship out, an office to clean, laundry to do, and try to get Darla feeling better.

  5. Had my final workout before the big weigh in tomorrow. It was a great one with sprinting, stairmaster, jump rope, burpees, and more sprinting. High intensity but exactly what I needed. SWEAT SWEAT SWEAT. It was great. Don’t know what I will be able to find out tomorrow at the weigh in because they are blind folding the 3 finalist and also they will have the other 9 gals who were eliminated back for their final weigh in. Should be an interesting morning. I will keep you posted. As far as the hair…well today was actual ly better with the new do however still struggling with it but it’s gonna be fine. I’m pretty well over the shock now.(ha)

  6. Great advice. Sometimes, life just gets in the way. I’m at a standstill right now too. After a slow 10K yesterday, I realized something was up and went back to the doctor. Today, I was diagnosed with pneumonia. No exercise for me for a while.

    Now, running with pneumonia is not a good thing to do. But I didn’t realize I had it at the time. And, now, I’m pretty impressed with how I ended up doing, given the circumstances.

Comments are closed.