IDEA Conference

Day 129 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

And, finally, the review you have all been waiting for…

Well perhaps that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but I did promise to review the Hit It! Kickbox dvd I purchased at the IDEA Convention and here it is…but first here is a picture of the super cute camo-samba pants I bought at the convention (these are the capri version — mine are full length).

The pants are made by KOS USA.  They are a lot of fun to wear, they fit well, and they feel great.  I wore them to Zumba on Sunday and I think the pants helped my dancing…it was “moi caliente” with these pants on!  I sweat (a lot) and the pants breathed pretty well, at least as well as my regular Underarmour black workout pants.  I bought two pairs of these pants, one in the white grey version you see here, and the other in army green.  I plan to wear the army green pants to boot camp class on Saturday.  I will let you know how they hold up under that kind of workout.

Hit It! Kickbox

We met Constance Papciak and DJ KJ at the IDEA conference.  Constance is very friendly and the two were kind enough to pose for a picture.  The Hit It! Kickbox dvd was playing on their monitor and it looked like so much fun that I couldn’t resist buying one.  You can get an idea of what the workout is like at the Hit It! Kickbox site.

The workout is described as “A Fusion of Nightlife & Cardio Kickboxing” and it certainly lives up to its name.  DJ KJ (Kevin Barker) provides the beats and high energy music while Constance Papciak, “an FFC Master Trainer for FitKick, FitFlex and FitJam…and an ACE and AFAA certified group exercise instructor and ACE personal trainer” provides instruction and a high energy workout.  The dvd is very well done.  Papciak’s instructions are clear and easy to follow.  Because I have taken a number of kickbox classes it was easy for me to follow the moves.  It may be more difficult for someone who has never done a kickbox class, although there is an instructional segment to help with this.  Papciak’s cueing is very good and she has excellent form (by watching her I was able to do some kickbox moves that I have had difficulty with in the past — I was able to see the way the move was supposed to look and I could catch her rhythms).  Her musicality is also very good.  One of the things I enjoyed was that the workout participants looked like “normal” people.  They were fit, but were not the typical “model types” often featured in exercise dvds.
 
The Hit It! Kickbox workout was HARD, but I totally enjoyed myself.  And guess what?  I got really sweaty!  If you like kickbox you will certainly enjoy this workout dvd!
 
Have a fabulous Friday and happy sweating!

P.S.  After working out I tried to take a picture so that I could show you how sweaty I was, but I discovered that it’s really hard to take a picture of yourself with your phone camera and I ended up with just a picture of my chest – which I don’t think I need to post here 🙂

13 thoughts on “Day 129 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

  1. Love the pants! Too much fun! I will have to look into a pair of them. I absolutely love kickboxing so I will definitely have to get that DVD! Thanks for sharing! I went to body flow this morning and i’m off to do five miles minimum this afternoon!

    xo

    • Fashion – You have been hitting it hard this past week! At this rate you will be a lean, mean, fighting machine by your wedding date! ~Karma

  2. Even I like the pants. Don’t think I could do the kick thing, but you never know.
    Walked the Park this morning. A little nicer weather here for today. We are headed over the Gr. R.’s to clean her patio and yard up for Mother’s Day. That should be our exercise for the day. Have a good day everyone. M.

    • You would look so cute in those pants. We should have sent them to you for Mother’s Day. I am glad you got your walk in – sorry to hear you are doing more cleaning – but at least you have company today. ~Karma

  3. Just arrived home from..dadadaddaaaa..The Gym. Yes, I made it to the gym today after work. I did a great upper body weight workout and will feel it tomorrow. Greg and I are planning a major bike ride tomorrow to see if we want to compete in the Haul Ash ride by Redhook Brewery(41 miles). I also am making a strawberry salad, which I copied from Fashion’s blog..I am adding grilled chicken (not June Darla). Hope everyone has a beautiful weekend.

    • Yay! for Dana! Drumrolls and trumpets and all sorts of fanfare for you going to the gym today. I know it was a hurdle of sorts. I want to do the Haul Ash Ride with you. When is it? Plus I need some of that strawberry salad! P.S. Perhaps skip the chicken next time?

  4. I so loved that kickboxing when I was able to go!!! Such an awesome workout! Those pants are cute too!

    Easy going today.. stretching & planks… already had 5 hard days in a row! 🙂

  5. Yesterday I did 30 minutes on the elliptical and some ab work. I thought I was gonna give up after 15 minutes but the music helped me push through. Never underestimate the power of the music. Dana the bike ride sounds fun, I wish Robbie and I could join you!

    • Now we need some fancy drum beats and lots of clapping for the T-unit! Hooray! So glad to hear you made it to the gym and made it past the deadly 15 minutes (I swear this is the time period within which it is touch and go whether I will keep going or not). You know I have all sorts of good music to keep you motivated. Let’s make a playlist for you. ~Karma

  6. So no taaadaaas for me today. I got up this morning and just said, “I can’t do it today.” My hip and ankle have been hurting, and I don’t know why, and I have been dragging a bit. Tonite I tried to do the Tracy Anderson method. I have the 9 minute warm up video that she offers if you sign up to be on her email list. That was pretty much okay except for one thing – I really needed a mat. I rolled my towel in everyway possible, but it still hurt my knees (and hips when I had to lay on my side) when doing the leg lifts. I need some padding! All in all it was not too successful. I will call it a wash for the day, but tomorrow…tomomrrow is another day. Btw: there are some really crazy moves on the Tracy Anderson video link from yesterday’s post. Even with padding I can’t see myself doing some of them. If you try the workout, let me know what you think. ~Karma

  7. I just got home from my parttime job, it was a good day and I got in a pretty good workout, but now I have some InPerspire work I need to do. Before I left for TJ’s I went for a good run it felt good and I was a sweaty mess when it was over. I hope all of you have a great weekend.

  8. Cute pants and rather perfect for Zumba especially if you are sporting around a tiara. I can just picture it now! Today was filled with alot of errands so I did an early a.m. walk/slow jog for about 3 1/2 miles which ended up being a fulfilling workout for me. Glad I chose to do it early so I couldn’t come up with reasons why I wasn’t gonna be able to do it.

Comments are closed.