Uncategorized

It’s A Cooking Thing…

with Dana and Greg.

   

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

*NB: When I asked Dana and Greg to do a weekly post about all the great things they cook, I forgot that this would mean mostly meat based recipes.  In the interest of my vegetarian sensibilities, and the recent adoption of June, every other Tuesday will be dedicated to a non-meat/non-fish recipe.

Soy-Maple Salmon
This recipe has the sweetness of maple syrup with  an Asian flare of ginger and soy sauce.

Straight from the Randall's Grill

1 cedar, alder or maple plank  soak at least 1 hour  the longer the better
1C Pure maple syrup
2Tbsp fresh grated ginger
¼ C fresh lemon juice
3 Tbsp soy sauce
2 cloves garlic
Salt/pepper
2 ½ lb salmon(skin on)
1 bunch green onions
 
Combine maple syrup ,ginger all but 1 Tbsp lemon juice, soy sauce, garlic in a small pot. Cook at a simmer until reduced to 1 Cup (about 30 mins).
Let cool. Season the salmon with salt and pepper and coat it with about ½ the sauce.
 
Preheat the grill on medium-high for 5-10 minutes. Rinse the plank and place it on the cooking grate. Cover the grill and heat the plank for4-5 mins (until it starts to throw off a bit of smoke). Reduce the heat to med-low.
Quickly place the chopped green onions on the plank, reserving about 1 Tbsp place the salmon on top of the greens on the plank. Cook for about 15 mins or until the internal temp of the salmon is 135 degrees. While cooking watch for flare ups and put them out with a spray bottle.
 
Take the plank off the grill and transfer salmon to platter, tent loosely with foil. Mix the rest of the sauce and the lemon juice together. Drizzle the salmon with sauce and serve immediately, garnish with leftover greens.
Enjoy!
   

 

11 thoughts on “It’s A Cooking Thing…

  1. This recipe is soooo good, healthy, low fat and perfect to get into the swing of summer. I love the picture of myself and Greg.

  2. I too love the picture of Dana and Greg. (not) She has been trying to get her Dad and myself to try this out, and now that I’ve seen the pic., I guess I will try it this weekend.
    My partner and I went out this morning in a downpour of rain. By the time I got home I had to change everything I had on. But a least it wasn’t snow.. Kind of fun really. Have a great day everyone. Momb

  3. You know what is crazy, that picture looks exactly like Dana and Greg, when I first looked at it I thought it was an actual picture of them. No exercise yet, but Darla will be home in about two houres and we will go out for a run. I was at Trader Joes yesterday for 8 hours, it is like doing an 8 hour boot camp full of lunges, sprints, and repeated lifting.

  4. Hi, I haven’t posted in a while. No excuses, just busy. Anyway, Dana just got home and we’re off to the gym…

    In response to today’s post I would like to say, everything is better with bacon…

  5. Yes, I like the way that Dana (in the picture) is looking so enthusiastically at that bacon. It’s like she has never seen something so beautiful before 🙂

    When I was still eating fish now and again, I tried this recipe and it was very good. Thanks for making it available to us.

    It took quite awhile on our walk before the lactic acid began to subside. I struggled with jogging a bit, but eventually found my stride and was able to end on a strong note.

    Cynthia – I forgot to say “Welcome Back”. I can’t imagine that your first day back run was accompanied by such cold temps and wind. I hope you continue to heal well and are back in full stride again soon.

  6. ah….I have been much lazier than I have wanted to be……I am frustrated with stupid work stuff…..I am on the hunt for another job but looks like food service is most all that I can do because my classes starting in June will be from eight to about three……ugh…….I need a change and a non-petty manager with an idea how to treat people in the world……..and to not be a hypcrite……Beyond that, today I wanted to do something I’d remember tomorrow so I did nearly all the abs I could remember from high school…..two reps of ten……good fun…..now tomorrow I’ll remember to work out….

  7. I’ll be honest I have never tried Salmon before…. besides fatting cod and tuna fish which can you really count those I avoid fish like it’s the plague it really freaks me out lol.

    Yesterday it rained ALL day her so I climbed some flights of stairs and managed to do almost 3 miles. I was pretty down yesterday. As I am on a 30 day challenge and had completed the first week on Sunday. I was completely forcing my body to workout every day and work towards change. The scale and my clothes showed no difference. It’s just become very frustrating for me.

  8. Erica – I totally get what you are saying about fish – for some reason it’s just creepy to eat it or even think about eating fish.

    About your working out: I am not sure if this is the situation for you, but when I push my body too hard it stops responding. Evolutionarily, our bodies are really good at adapting to stress, so the more stress you put your body under the more it works to adapt to keep everything in a state of homeostasis. I am not sure what your 30 day Challenge is, and if you absolutely need to complete it, but I think you should give youself a few days off, then use the method that I think they use on the Biggest Loser, i.e., always keep your body guessing so it doesn’t know what to expect. Change up the level of your workout intensity during the week, change the number of times you workout each week, change how many calories you take in each day; don’t let anything become routine.

    The other thing that I believe helped me to start losing weight is that I stopped thinking about my exercise as a way to lose weight. When I was focused on working out as a vehicle to burn calories two things happened (1) I did not enjoy my workouts; (2) I didn’t lose weight.

    Like I said, I am not sure that any of the above suggestions will work for you, however, I think they may be worth a try. There is also the other question I asked a few weeks ago…is it possible that you are already at your perfect weight for your age and height, i.e., you don’t need to lose any weight and your body knows.

Comments are closed.