Biggest Loser / Bob Harper

It’s a Biggest Loser Thing…

Day 134 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

The lights come up and the music starts…

What have you done today to make yourself proud?

When I hear that song, I immediately feel inspired and start thinking to myself, “What have I done today to make me feel proud?”

That was an easy question for me to answer today: I walked and then pushed myself to jog when I least felt like it.  I made, and have been making, healthy choices each day about what I am eating and my portions.  However, I have been a bit anxious lately.  I often find myself worrying about whether one “slip up” (not exercising or eating or drinking things that will definitely add extra calories) will be followed by another slip up and another and will eventually lead to that slippery slope we have all heard about.  When I start feeling anxious I pause and remind myself that the changes I have made are lifelong and that over the long haul I will be able to make the good choices I need.

That feeling of being afraid was at issue for Michael on last night’s Biggest Loser.  He said he was frustrated because even though he had lost a lot of weight, he still had so much more to lose, but I knew those were empty words.  I knew what Michael was afraid of — he was afraid that even though he had come so far he might not be able to maintain it.  What would happen when he wasn’t in a controlled environment, working out more than not, and eating specially prepared meals?  In otherwords, what would happen if he slipped?  Would the “slips” add up to weight gain and shame again?

Michael was eventually able to work it out.  I believe I have too.  What about you?  Do you have those feelings of anxiety when you “slip up”?

According to Bob (that’s Bob Harper for the uninitiated), it’s about the 80/20 thing – making good choices 80% of the time will keep us on the path to good health and happiness.  For me it’s like the hara hachi bu principle of eating that I wrote about in January. 

Hara hachi bu means to eat until you are 80% full.  This approach to eating is similar to the philosophy of living life in moderation.  I sometimes have a difficult time remembering hara hachi bu when I am eating, but with practice it is becoming more of a habit.  One company, Mindless Gear, actually makes bracelets, hats, and other products to remind us to live a life of moderation.

I made my own bracelet and it has really helped.  It has two little silver plated ghungroo bells that make the loveliest sound.  When I hear them I think – I am special 🙂  Maybe you can make your own “I am special”, “hara hachi bu”, or “I am worth it” bracelet.

So, now, on to my favorite quotes from last night’s show.

In this moment we all have this common denominator – it’s getting healthy. ~Michael

I believe now that I am beautiful.  ~Sunshine

One person that I couldn’t find to love me is me.  ~Daris

Be aware that it’s not a finish line thing — it’s a lifetime thing.  ~Erik to Koli

You’re changing other people’s lives as well.  Keep that in mind.  It’s not all about you.  It’s about you inspiring others to make changes in their daily lives.  ~Tony Romo

All that being said, now:

Stand up and finish what you started.  ~Bob Harper

 Have a wildly productive Wednesday!

10 thoughts on “It’s a Biggest Loser Thing…

  1. I love that bracelet. Went on the web site and they have some pretty good things that make you think twice.
    Still kind of cool here today, but went for the usual walk. Dano was a little mindless himself today. He thought he could do anything he wanted to. (typical for him) Had to let him know that I was still boss!!! Ya really.

    Just two more days Karma. Love ya M.

    • Maybe we should all act a little mindless somedays…think about how much fun Dano probably had today being a free spirit. We should get you something from that website or let’s make you a bracelet this summer 🙂 ~Karma

  2. Today the plan was to go running, but St Louis got hit with huge storms early today, the rain I can handle but the lightning not such a good idea. I think it is good for me to have the day off of exercising, my legs and arms are tired, and I am headed to TJ’s. Now about Darla and hara hachi bu, you had no problem with that yesterday, I made something new for us to eat, and it was not good.

    • Jimmy – You are the busiest man in St. Louis. I don’t know how you do it all. I think it is important for you to take a day off today. Give your body a rest. It needs it. As for the new recipe from last night, perhaps it wasn’t the greatest, but what if it had been awesome? As you always tell me, you have got to try new things because there is always the possibility that you are going to love it, and what’s the worst that can happen if you don’t like it, you don’t eat as much and therefore saving calories 🙂

  3. Hey Erica – I left a reply to your comment yesterday on yesterday’s post. I didn’t want you to miss it 🙂

    Smith – About your comment from yesterday – I have been there…working in the food service industry while going to school. I will say that it is worth it. Hopefully you can find a new restaurant that will treat you better – keep trying. For me, it’s hard to work out when my life is not settled so it’s excellent that you did all those abs. I liked how you put it, “I wanted to do something I would remember tomorrow.” That’s just classic. We did a really hard ab exercise at boot camp on Saturday (you may already know it, but it was new to me). You are on your back with knees bent in a typical crunch position, then you lift your head and shoulders off the ground and reach your right fingertips to touch your right ankle, followed by reaching your left fingertips to touch your left ankle. This was an ab exercise that I remembered the next day and the next.

  4. OK, I did not read the post just in case since I have not seen TBL yet… 🙂

    Great weights & cardio workout. Was a bit tired but once I got going, all was fine!

    • I was thinking about you when I wrote the post last night because I know you wait to watch 🙂 I was careful not to put anything in that might give anything away, but I agree it’s better to watch first and read later! Loved the pictures on your post today 🙂 ~Karma

  5. Lovely post. Sometimes we all need a pick-me-up. Greg and I played football,baseball,frisbee and went walking.

  6. Great lines at the end. I’m really glad that you post them as we don’t get the show. In fact, we don’t have cable so if it’s not local, we don’t watch it.
    Got out on my own tonight for the first time in months. It meant a babysitter but that “me” time was so good. I think I’m almost in race shape and may give Saturday a go after all. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

Comments are closed.