Uncategorized

Day 136 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

Dana sent me a quote she wanted to share.  I thought it might be a good reminder for all of us.

“This is the beginning of a new day. You have been given this day to use as you will. You can waste it or use it for good. What you do today is important because you are exchanging a day of your life for it. When tomorrow comes, this day will be gone forever; in its place is something that you have left behind…let it be something good.”

I was so inspired by what Dana shared that I thought I should share something too.  It’s the story of what happened when Dana came to visit last month.

Once upon a time, while Greg and Jimmy were out running errands, and I happened to be taking one of the longest showers of my life, Dana went into the downstairs bathroom.  Not only did she go into the bathroom, but she also locked the bathroom door.  This sounds innocent enough unless you know what Dana and everyone else knows who visits us, you can’t lock our bathroom door, it has “problems” opening again once it’s been locked.  When I eventually decided to emerge from my overly long shower I heard Dana calling downstairs — you guessed it — she was locked in the bathroom.  To make matters worse, she had been in there a fairly long time, during which time she found out there was no toilet paper 🙂  I told her through the locked door that we always have toilet paper in the drawer, but she said we definitely did not…and…that this was not the point…the point was to get her out.  I tried to remove the door knob with tools, but after removing the entire knob assembly the door was still jammed.  At that point there was only one thing to do, I told Dana, “Move back!”, and in my best Starsky and Hutch impression, I kicked the door down.  It was very dramatic (and funny).  We documented it.

The "busted" door.

She emerges with door knob in hand.

Dana then shows me what happened to the drawer when she was looking for toilet paper.

The now defunct drawer after Dana pulled it completely off.

I then explain to Dana that she was looking for toilet paper in a decorative drawer.
The toilet paper was there all the time in the bottom drawer.  

Uh oh - there is a drawer full of tp here!

 

And despite all this...she's still smiling...and wearing my tiara!

And the moral of this story is…well…I will leave that up to all of you 🙂

Have a fabulous Friday

10 thoughts on “Day 136 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

  1. This is so inspiring!! What great pics of me(not). I am laughing so hard and it is only 5:30 AM. This is gonna be a great day!! Thanks for the up lift!

    • No, thank you for the memories 🙂 You’re a good sport, Dana, that’s we love you. Now, get to the gym after work. No excuses. ~Karma

  2. I loved, loved, loved the comments from “It’s a Jimmy Thing” yesterday, and I also loved the one’s from the day before. So, I am posting my comments to all those here.

    Smith – Did you read “There’s an alligator under my bed”?, by Mercer Mayer, when you were young? It was one of Robbie’s favorite stories and one I loved to read to him. When you said there might be an alligator in your grass because it was so long – that is what I thought of and it just made me laugh.

    Jody – When you said you needed some of our risk taking to rub off on you outside the gym, I told Jimmy, “but we need Jody’s ability to push herself out of her comfort zone in the gym to rub off on us!”

    Cynthia – I can’t believe you guys don’t get the Biggest Loser. I will be sure to post more inspirational quotes. Jimmy and I just got cable last year. We had resisted for so long, but now I have to admit we really love to watch the special programming. — I am so glad you were able to find time, and a babysitter, to go running by yourself. Do you think will be able to do the Saturday race? — I just learned about teaching risk taking to children in school in an Educational Psychology class I am taking and here you said it all so well in a comment 🙂 I see a big difference between the students (at the university) who have been taught risk taking and therefore have self-confidence to make decisions and those who have not learned this skill and therefore are afraid to make the smallest, everyday life decisions.

    Erica – Yay! Your first 5k! When is it? What is it? I am so excited for you. I want to try too, but I have the same kind of “thing” you wrote about. I often can only run continuously for short distances. I don’t know if it is all our hills, or the fact that my back aches, or if it is just a matter of figuring it out stamina wise. Anyway, you will be just fine.

    Jimmy and I are off to the gym. Will post results later.

  3. So Greg and I came home with the Uhaul trailer ready to pack up and head to Chicago for the Fusion show, but the bathroom door delayed our departure. Today we have more rain in St Louis, so we are headed to the gym.

  4. Just back from the gym and am I sweaty. It felt good to be on the treadmill again ‘groovin’ to my tunes. I downloaded some new songs that I know you are going to love, Dana. I will share later. So, treadmill for little over a 5k, then sit ups, then medicine ball work on the arms.

  5. This thing really cracks me up. I for one know how it is possible to get locked in D. and J.’s bathroom. Makes you feel real dumb at first doesn’t it Dana? But at least I didn’t tear the drawer apart. The pic. of dana holding the doorknob and with the tiara on, makes her look very sheepish, like she is asking “Do you still love me” Anyway you guys made my day.

    We painted the doll house (shed) in our backyard today. It was a lot of work and I tired tonight so—See ya

  6. A bit late in my post, I did hit the gym today, I walked for a mile before my legs were warmed up and I started to run, but once I started to run I was feeling good, and ran for 3.5 miles.

  7. Dana is too cute and such an awesome sport! I did a 5 mile walk for this day. My 5k is on the 31st…. it’s going to be a really hilly 5k, I hate all the hills here! When I was in MI running it was easier for me with constant flat. I am really struggling here and think I need to work on my breathing. Honestly I don’t even want to know what my time is I just want to complete the thing!

    • Erica – Here is a formula I think you will appreciate: Me + hills = strong dislike and aversion! Why, oh why, are there hills? I agree, timing is not important, just stay strong and steady. Do you have your mantra ready?

Comments are closed.