food diary / healthy food / Joes & Sandwiches

Avocado Toast/It’s a Cooking Thing…

with Dana and Greg

I'm not sure why we're cooking bacon on the grill, but it sure looks good.

Okay everyone here it is…Cooking with Dana and Greg — mostly Dana this week.  I thought about all the awesome recipes Greg and I have made over the years, but most of them involve meat!  Since every other Tuesday is a non-meat recipe ( Karma’s wishes) I came up with something that has been in my family for years.  It is simple yet nutritious and delicious.  I hope this is new to some of you.

Avocado Toast (a.k.a. the Breakfast of Champions in our family)

1 Ripe avocado

Wheat bread or whatever bread you love ( we love the Costco 8 grain bread, it’s a few more calories, but filling and full of fiber and protein)

Salt and pepper

 Toast your bread, mash avocado on the bread, sprinkle salt and pepper to taste, and voila you are done.  Karma thinks this is best served with a low-fat latte made by me 🙂

Some people (Mom & Karma)  try to put butter on the toast first and then the avocado, but the avocado is used in place of the butter and it is much healthier to leave the butter out.

Here are some fun facts about avocados (taken from Eat This):

  1. Avocados are a fruit, not a vegetable.
  2. There are more than 500 varieties of avocados.
  3. Avocados are native to Central and South America; the name is derived from the Aztec word “ahuacatl”.   Spanish explorers could not pronounce ahuacatl, so they called the avocado aguacate.  This is the origin of the word guacamole. 
  4. The avocado is sometimes called the “Alligator Pear” because of its pear shape and alligator like skin.
  5. There is more potassium in an avocado than a banana (potassium is a mineral that helps regular blood pressure).
  6. The average avocado contains 300 calories and 30 grams of healthy polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fat.
  7. Avocados have the highest protein content of any fruit.
  8. One cup of avocado has 23% of the Daily Value for folate, a nutrient important for heart health.
  9. Avocados contain oleic acid, a monounsaturated fat that may help to lower cholesterol.

Next week we will post a recipe that will be a little more challenging…Happy Tuesday!!!

P.S.  2-3 thin slices of avocado or ~2 tbsp. = 50 calories.

Here is a fun comparison between avocado, butter, and cheddar cheese:

14 thoughts on “Avocado Toast/It’s a Cooking Thing…

  1. Today I made Avocado toast for Darla and me, and it was great. I brought the avocado’s home from Trader Joe’s, and the bread came from the St Louis Bread Company, or for you that do not live in St Louis, Panera Bread. I have exercised the last four days and worked for the last two, so today could be an off day for traditional exercise. My plan is this, tons of yard work, about 7 loads of laundry, going from upstairs down to the basement, good stair workout, sweep and mop our floors, we have all wood floors, and just clean the house. Also, I may walk to the Post Office.

  2. Great post Dana. We all love avocado toast but I did not know all the facts and espically about the potassium amount to help blood pressure. Very interesting and it made me hungry.

    Jimmy, again you have way to much energy if you can do all that stuff. Wish I had 1/4 of it.
    But did get a walk in the rain this morning and now off to the grocery to get food for Grandma R. (My idea this time).

    By the way the banana pudding recipie of Darla’s is fantastic. I probably will have some for breakfast along with my av0cado toast. M.

  3. I do love avocado toast, you guys are the ones who introduced me to it and it’s my favorite now. I didn’t know they were so healthy though. Avocados rule!!

  4. So far today, 7 loads of laundry that is 350 steps, and I cut the grass, twice. I had to cut the grass twice because of a combination of all of the rain that we have had in St Louis and my lawn mower not having a motor.

  5. I also had avocado toast today. I love the unity.
    Planning on cycling with Alyx(daughter) today.
    I hope you all enjoy the toast.

  6. I love avocados. This is a great breakfast when you’re looking for those extra carbs to power through. That said… everything is better with bacon!

  7. Hey, my Mother use to eat Avocado on toast when I was little. Seeing all of that green on bread totally turned me off advocados and I still won’t touch them. It’s strange because I love my fruits and veggies; that just scared me for life.

  8. Hey – The reason I moved to wordpress.com is because Blogger was always “acting up”, but today wordpress is doing the same. I have a “call” into their support, but until I hear from them I cannot publish today’s post. You will just have to wait 🙂

Comments are closed.