Biggest Loser / Bob and Jillian

Jillian Michaels Rocks

Day 146 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

I usually post Biggest Loser quotes and a recap today, but I didn’t get to watch the last hour of last night’s episode so I don’t know what happened once the final four started the marathon – I also don’t know how it ended so be sure not to tell me if you know :).  So, in lieu of the usual “It’s a Biggest Loser Thing” I have a tribute to JM.

I haven’t always loved Jillian Michaels, but I have grown to both respect and appreciate her.  When I was first introduced to Jillian on the Biggest Loser, I found her methods and ways a bit harsh.  I wasn’t so sure that yelling at contestants was the way to get them to change, but after watching 10 seasons of the Biggest Loser I definitely see there is a method to her madness.  My new found appreciation and, dare I say, love, for Jillian was driven by the success she has helped the contestants achieve and prompted by my experience with the 30 Day Shred. 

Erica of Fashion Meets Food posted about doing the 30 Day Shred and I was curious.  I found it on iTunes (for $8.99 you get Levels 1-3; see my note at the end about downloading), but you can also order it at Amazon

The 30 Day Shred is the “bomb” (yes, I realize I am using rather antiquated terminology, but no other words adequately describe how I feel about this workout).  The first time I did, “The Shred”, as I like to call it, I had the “smart” idea that I would try it after an hour-long boot camp class.  At the time, I didn’t fully understand how hard I had worked in boot camp class and that doing the 30 Day Shred after boot camp was sheer madness.  You could definitely say that I found Jillian’s workout VERY challenging that day.  I didn’t do the 30 Day Shred again for almost a week because I was so sore. 

The next time I attempted to do “The Shred” I thought, “This is going to be so much easier.”  Wrong.  It wasn’t easier.  It was hard, but still, I find that there is a lot to like about the workout.  According to Michael’s exercise philosophy, you need to incorporate cardio and strength to get the most out of your workouts and see the biggest results.  I used 5 lb weights, but you could easily use heavier or lighter, or no weights, if you are just beginning.  The weights and combo movements — using small and large muscles made for one butt kicking workout…and speaking of butt-kicks — there are plenty of them, along with jumping jacks and jump ropes (which I have a special thing for) in the cardio portion.  I found Jillian to be encouraging and highly motivating.  This workout dvd is well worth the $8.99 price, but don’t take my word for it, here are reviews from other bloggers: Review 1, Review 2 (this blogger calls it the “30 Day Dead”), Review 3.  I think you will get a kick out of their reviews 🙂

Walk Hard it’s Wednesday!

NB: It took two hours to download the entire season (all 3 levels) from iTunes, but it was definitely worth the wait.

10 thoughts on “Jillian Michaels Rocks

  1. Yay for the 30 Day Shred! I was shocked at how good I felt after it! People freaked me out about it, but after trying it out I was completely hooked. I just have to make sure I don’t do it everyday or my body will not adopt to the change. Oh and PS I absolutely LOVE Hit It! I did it today for the first time and daaaaaang what a crazy hard and awesome workout!

    • Erica – We all have you to thank for the 30 Day Shred – yay! I am so glad you liked Hit It! Kickbox. Since you are a kickbox girl I was wondering what you thought and I am glad you were happy with it. Constance really is good and her form is awesome. Maybe I will do it tonite…

  2. I want Jillian & Bob to work me out in person! 🙂 I have not seen the show yet either!

    On too little sleep, I still managed a good cardio workout & the weights went awesome! Triceps, biceps, shoulders, cor/abs!!!

    • Jody – Maybe we can get Bob and Jillian to come to our houses and give us a workout – for free – and then we can post about it! I wish, oh wish. Sounds like you had a great workout day even on not enough sleep. Go Girl!

  3. Today Robbie and I did the 30 day shred with Karma and Jimmy and we almost died, and that was just level one. We felt pretty good afterwards. This is definitely a good workout. Robbie and I had to push ourselves a bit, but we did well. Of course none of us could keep up with Jimmy “the machine” Spinelli.

    • It was SO much fun working out with you two! A family that sweats together (that sounds kind of weird) works out together stays together 🙂 I was also happy to see that Jimmy and I were not the only ones who find “The Shred” challenging. Let’s do more!

  4. I still have yet to get time to try this but I am going to get to it this weekend. Greg and I are lifting weights and cycling today 🙂
    T-Unit, you are right! J is the Machine Spinelli, it is from all the yard work he is doing with his motorless lawnmower

    • Did you have to bring up the push lawnmower – Jimmy’s pride and joy even thought it doesn’t mow all the blades of grass the same length!

  5. Dana and I made it to the gym today and lifted weights. Arms and abs for me.

    I’m interested in trying this new fangled “30 Day Shred”. However, I refuse to call Jimmy the “Machine”…

Comments are closed.