Uncategorized

The Art of Breathing…

Day 149 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey 

I usually begin this post with an image of the Mona Lisa listening to her iPod, with her famous smile, and I follow that up with a picture (submitted by one of us) that gives us pause to breathe.  But today’s Art of Breathing is a little different.  Using Julie Andrews as a vehicle (it’s like using a veggie burger as a vehicle for my love of ketchup), here is a post of… 

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens...

 my favorite birthday things (all of them make me smile): 

 

Starting from the left upper-corner (in no particular order): 

  1. Banana Pudding!  I made banana pudding (with Jimmy’s help) for the very first time and it was just too awesome to even talk about.  I got the recipe from Maya Angelou, she gave it to me personally (I wish), it was printed in O Magazine.  If you want the recipe, just let me know and I will send it to you.  Everything is from scratch even that lovely meringue you see.  By the way, the banana pudding was even better the second and third days.
  2. My birthday table.  We always arrange our gifts on the kitchen table (a tradition started by my mother) and my “birthday table” was just lovely this year.  Thanks, Jimmy!
  3. Melvin the goat.  My family adopted Melvin for me for my birthday.  Melvin was rescued from extreme conditions of neglect.  You can read Melvin’s story here. So, I am now the mother of a chicken, a goat, and a boy; it really doesn’t get better than this.  
  4. A scrapbook about my grandfather, who died at Iwo Jima, and my grandmother put together by my Aunt Penny.  This gift is so meaningful and she spent so much time on it.  It is important to know our stories and now I know another part of mine.
  5. Robbie (my son) and Tricia (his fiance) put together a photo album/scrapbook for me.  The first page says, “In the beginning there were only two, and then our clan grew and grew”.  Yes, there were more than a few tears shed and their thoughtfulness and the love that went into this gift are so appreciated.  I am lucky indeed!
  6. Practice kindness cards.  Little cards to use each day to pass on a kindness to someone else with the hope that they will do the same.
  7. Mat for me to use while doing the 30 Day Shred.  My knees and back are going to be so much happier.
  8. My second birthday cake.  You can see my first one here  🙂
  9. Farm Sanctuary t-shirt made out of the softest organic cotton I have ever worn.  A compasionate world does begin with you 🙂
  10. Two solar lanterns (I don’t have a picture).  They charge all day and shine all night – thanks Dana & Greg.

Have a great Sunday.  Good luck finishing your Boot Camp Challenge! 

13 thoughts on “The Art of Breathing…

  1. Wow, those are all such thoughtful gifts! Hope your birthday was extra special. Melvin is so cute, what a great rescue story.

    • Yes, Melvin is a really cutie. I am glad you liked his story. We are going to try to go see him this summer at the California farm and go see June at the New York farm – coast to coast. ~Karma

  2. Looks like you had an absolutely fabulous birthday!! I love birthday tables! Your banana pudding looks absolutely amazing. I made banana pudding once and it was the worst experience ever… I think my mum’s cousin left some ingredients out! I hate when people do that! Sentimental gifts are always the absolute best! Yay for a mat! Your back will LOVE you!

    One of my best friends from Michigan is in town… she’s a Zumba instructor… so Friday, yesterday and today has been Zumba boot camp in my living room and out in the park. So much fun!!! I told her that I want to keep her here forever. I am totally jealous of the fact that she pretty much weighs 2 lbs though! She also has this AWESOME zumba dvd that she got from one of the seminars she went to. She’s going to make me a copy… would you be interested in one? It’s a killer workout!

    xo hope you enjoy your Sunday! I’m off for some more Zumba!

    • Erica at Fashion – I know you do graphic design, and you may be too busy right now, but would you like to design one of the Virtual Boot Camp badges for one of the weekends? No worries if you can’t 🙂

  3. Oh, Fashion, you know I love Zumba – and I would LOVE a copy of the workout. How lucky that you have a Zumba instructor and friend with you this weekend. It’s a Zumba-extravagana! St. Louis is hosting a Zumba for the Cure on June 11th and I plan to participate (2 hours of Zumba) and InPerspire is donating some of our towels for raffle gifts. I am really looking forward to ZftC2010. Zumba Rocks! Btw, I replied to your “Friday situation” post 🙂 I am off to Zumba now.

  4. It was a great Birthday weekend, it rained all 3 days but we just rolled with it. Today we are off to the gym, and when we get home it is time for boot camp. We were thinking about going bike riding today but it is hot, humid, and it looks like it could start raining soon, welcome to the St Louis summer, it would have been nice to have a bit longer spring.

  5. I am bringing my jump rope to Zumba so I can do the jump rope portion and sit-up portion (and at least 25 push-ups) after class this morning. Wish me luck!

  6. You are very lucky. This just reminded me of how lucky we all are to just be here everyday and breathe. Sometimes we get so focused on our own problems like the last ten pounds,not getting to the gym ect…that we forget the little things that trult define us and make us happy. Thanks for the post oh and I miss you guys!

    • I hadn’t thought of it that way, Dana. You’re right, even today I was kvetching about being up 2lbs and really that is such nonsense for me. I needed to stop and breathe – so thanks for reminding me. And, ditto, on the last four words of your comment 🙂

  7. We went to the gym, and did 55 minutes on the Cybex, I was sweaty and tired, the machine said I burned 891 calories, I am not so sure about that. After that I worked on the Boot Camp Challenge. This has been a good exercise weekend.

  8. I love your favorite things. It really is the little things that matter. Happy Birthday!

    Ran 10K for the first time in a month and it was awful! Number 2 was in the jogger (already had the odds against me with that), it was the longest I have run since being sick and it was 23 C (30C with the humidex – or 77F and high 80’sF, respectively; I haven’t run in that kind of heat since last August). But I finished, and finishing is victory.

Comments are closed.