healthy food / Other Good Stuff

Stuffed Peppers/It’s a Cooking Thing…kind of

Remember last Tuesday when Dana, of Dana and Greg and It’s a Cooking Thing fame, posted a recipe for avocado toast?  Avocado toast is certainly tasty, and I appreciated Dana’s tips on how to make the best avocado toast ever (it really is awesome), but at the end of her post she promised to give us a more challenging recipe this week.  Here’s a picture of Dana thinking up her new recipe…

Hmmm, what should I make this week?

Well…this week Dana sent me a recipe for what she was calling, “Not My Mamma’s Stuffed Peppers” (she is making reference to the fact that we were not big fans of our mom’s stuffed peppers (sorry mom) when we were growing up; of  course, we were just kids so they were probably better than we remember :)).  Anyway, as I was reading through the recipe she sent, I thought, this doesn’t sound like something Dana would make, e.g., it had sunflowers, brown rice, and no meat (the big tip off was the no meat), so I called her to ask about it.  Dana started laughing and admitted that she was tired after a long week and weekend, and that everything they made last week had meat in it or was fattening, so she just found a recipe that looked good and submitted it to me.  Now, that just made me laugh.

Do any of you watch, Parenthood, the new weekly family drama created by Ron Howard?  On last night’s episode, Julia (lawyer and mom), was assigned to bring homemade soup to the sick parents from her daughter’s school.  Julia is a busy person, and not that into cooking, so instead of homemade soup, she bought soup from a restaurant and poured it into one of her own pans.  Unfortunately for Julia, the receipt from the soup purchase went into the pan along with the store bought soup and her scheme was soon discovered.  Uh-oh!

Julia’s story reminds me of Dana’s and vice versa.  Raising kids, working, trying to keep our lives organized, AND working out, is hard.  We are just plain busy and cutting a few corners now and then never hurt anyone.  So, take a shortcut when you need one and don’t forget to ask for a little help from your friends.

In lieu of Dana’s “Not My Mamma’s Stuffed Peppers” (Dana, that is just such a great title), here is:
 
Not Dana’s Stuffed Peppers” ~Karma & Jimmy
3 large orange, red, or yellow bell peppers (you can also use green)
1 pkg. Uncle Ben’s Wild Rice (cooked according to package directions)
3/4 chopped almonds
2 green onions
1-soup can size petite diced tomatoes, drained
1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 tsp. worcestershire
1/2 tsp. dried basil
garlic salt and pepper
 
Cut peppers in half lengthwise.  Remove stems and seeds.  Drop pepper halves into boiling water.  Boil uncovered for 2 minutes, then plunge into cold water and drain well. 
 
Stir together: cooked rice, almonds, green onions, tomatoes, 1 cup of the cheddar cheese, eggs, worcestershire, basil, and garlic salt and pepper to taste (Jimmy, who often makes this dish, says he adds approx. 3-4 shakes of garlic salt and a tsp or so of pepper).  Mound mixture into pepper shells and then place peppers into shallow baking dish (we use a cookie sheet).  Sprinkle tops equally with remaining cheddar cheese.  Bake uncovered at 375 degrees for 35 minutes.
 
 We don’t have a picture of the peppers to show you today, but we will definitely have something to show you by next week.  These peppers are super good and our whole family loves them.  The recipe comes from Sunset Vegetarian Cooking.  We found out, when we were looking for pictures to post, that it is now listed as an “old” cookbook.  I guess 1981 now qualifies as old.  Anyway, it is my favorite cookbook and you can get it on ebay for $1.04.  Imagine, I paid $5.95 for it 1985 🙂

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

7 thoughts on “Stuffed Peppers/It’s a Cooking Thing…kind of

  1. After the 100 push ups as part of the boot camp challenge, I don’t even like to hear about push ups! Kidding 🙂 Glad you had a great workout and hope your day is fantastic. ~Karma

  2. Hey– this gr. pepper recipie is really good. The only thing that would make it better is to add ground beef to it. Ha

    Been in Texas the last few days so I missed all the excitment of the boot camp challenge. I will have to catch up with some of you (like that will happen) . It is fun to read what all of you are doing and maybe I can try some of the things like jumping jacks.

    Loved your post Jimmy. Thank you for all your comments and you have payed us all back in so many ways. A good-day to all. M.

    • If you try to the jumping jacks do them without using your arms (then your shoulders won’t hurt) or you can do modified jacks, which I can tell you about. Try the stuffed pepper recipe, I know you will like it. We are glad you are back from Texas, but sorry you came home to snow (that sounds impossible). ~Karma

  3. Stuffed Peppers are great, and easy to make, and for the most part healthy. Also if you will be getting home late you can make the peppers early put them in the fridge and when you get home put them in the oven, you need to cook them 10 min longer, 45 min, because they starting out cold. Dana’s stuffed peppers is like having a wish sandwich. I think today will be an off day, I have been pushing my body hard, and it is tired, if I do any exercise it will be the 30 day shred, I will report back. Thanks for all of the nice comments on yesterdays post.

  4. Hey this does sound good although I may stay with not my mamma’s peppers and review it in the coming weeks!! Loved the post and yes, I have been unusualy busy this week. I promise something excellent next week!!! I will even post a pic from my own kitchen. Gym for us today (weights).

  5. Dang this recipe sounds absolutely fabulous! I might just have to make it! I cannot believe that I have forced myself to workout every single day this month. Including running, weights, workout videos and more! I finally in a good mindset for the 5k. I am not doing it for the time I am doing it just for me. I have worked out every day this month the race is on the 31st so I think it will be a great way to end the month. Although the scale has not moved…. this month has made me so powerful and able to try new things.

    xo

Comments are closed.