Boot Camp

Day 158 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

Boot Camp Mania has swept the nation…

well, perhaps not quite a mania, but I know a lot of you were “in” for Week 2.  The challenge was harder than I expected.  The 300 squats combined with the wall squats were almost my undoing, but I pushed through.  So, let’s start by congratulating those who were able to finish Week 2.  Hoorah!!  Hooray!! Hooah!!  Walk proud, talk proud, and BE proud.  Roll Call for Week 1 is up if you want to check it out.  I will have Roll Call for Week 2 up by Wednesday.  

If you would like to grab a badge for Week 2 for your blog/website/personal calendar here they are: 

     

If you were unable to complete the Boot Camp Challenge this week, no worries, there is always next week! 

Since today is Memorial Day we have shifted “It’s a Jimmy Thing” to later in the week.   

A week or so ago, I posted a mosaic of my wonderful birthday gifts.  Among them was a scrapbook my Aunt Penny made me with pictures of my grandfather and grandmother (on my dad’s side) and their families.  Thanks to my Aunt Penny, I now have some pictures to post of my grandfather, Thomas V. Dale, who was killed at Iwo Jima.  On this Memorial Day I pay tribute to him and to all our service men and women and their families for their sacrifices. 

My grandpa as a boy.

As a Marine.

What he left behind: (l-r) My Aunt Bonnie, Grandma, Dad, & Aunt Penny

 My grandfather carried this picture into battle and it was returned with his personal belongings.  I didn’t know my grandfather, but I miss him just the same. 

Sometimes, what is lost cannot be found.  

20 thoughts on “Day 158 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

  1. What a lovely gift your aunt gave you.

    I finished the boot camp, but between the squats and fartleks on a hilly route, my backside is a bit sore today. Thanks for pushing me!

  2. Hey Tracy – No worries about the jump ropes – and next week – you can just do them without the rope – so consider Week 2 – Done! Congrats 🙂

  3. I DID IT! I was actually getting concerned in the middle of my push ups, wall squats, squats and plank portion, but I just kept pushing through. Week 2 – Done!

    I need this push. There is no way that I would have done even one push up and/or plank without this challenge. I am excited because I think my arms are getting a little stronger.

  4. This is a great post, and it looked like a great boot camp. I did not finish week2, I started it on Sat with push ups and jumping jacks, but my ankle was hurting and I still needed to go to my other job at TJ’s where I am on my feet for 8 hours, so I decded that it was best to stop. I will finish the boot camp #2 before the start of week 3. Today I plan on a long walk and yard work.

  5. Happy Memorial Day to you all. Karma..as always thanks for those words of encouragement and you are so right about watching what goes in my mouth. My, my, the simple things we forget. So easy when we are down to find comfort in FOOD, however, it’s a new week. Time to pay attention. Congrats to the boot camp survivors. Can’t wait to get released from the doctor so I can join you. GOD BLESS AMERICA on this beautiful Memorial Day!!!

  6. We walked 4.6 miles today (no running because of Jimmy’s ankle), then we did a lot of ab work. We are nice and sweaty and happy after working out.

  7. We did a 4.6 mile walk, I did not want to run on my sore ankle, and we did 125 sit-ups. Now it is time for some InPerspire work, and some yard work, depending on the weather, it should start raining in St Louis soon.

  8. I made it out alive!!! This month has been completely crazy, but so rewarding! I worked out or did some sort of intense physical activity every single day this month. It took a physical toll on my body, the scale didn’t move, but I felt like I had more motivation. I am glad I challenged myself to workout everyday for 31 days straight… however I will never do that again!

    Here’s the word on the 5K…. it was crazy uphill for 80% of the race. I absolutely hate uphill, but knew that I was doing this for me to show that I am capable of anything. I ran the ENTIRE thing! Minus one small fast paced walk where everyone seemed to walk in that area because the incline was so intense. I got a complete adrenaline rush as soon as I saw that I had completed one mile and hadn’t stopped running. I knew that I could finish it. Honestly it was one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life, but one of the most rewarding. I finished in 30 minutes and 15 seconds which I thought was amazing for how intense the hills were! I appreciate all the inspiration, help and encouragement that you have provided me with!

    Enjoy your day!
    xo

    • Congratulations on working out 31 days straight and winning the May Gold Star Challenge!!! Congratulations, too, on your first 5K!!!!

  9. Went to the gym today did upper body due to the complete soreness of my lower body:)

    I love seeing these pictures and want to give shout out to Aunt Penny for giving us the opportunity to appreciate Grandpa and all his legacy has led to. Plus the picture of Danny D is still just so much like him today..mischievious!! Love to all those who we have lost and all those we still have a chance to share our love with.

  10. Yea i don’t know what happened the weekend got away from me to many bbq’s i guess but sadly I only got through 1/3 of this weeks bootcamp.

    and what a great gift from your Aunt. 🙂

  11. I did not do the boot camp challenge. After racing on Sunday morning and facing a ton of work to do, I had to set priorities. Hopefully, next week will be better.

    But, my 5K race was awesome!

    • Hey Cynthia,

      I knew it would be difficult to do the boot camp with the race – you work so hard and at such a high level. Jimmy and I were amazed at your race place. Maybe next weekend 🙂

  12. I DID IT!!! I am so proud that I got thru the entire challenge. I think you have single handedly changed my attitude! When you break it up, it’s not so bad, but when you put the entire list together…. I can hardly believe it! Plus I thought about it all the time… every spare minute was an opportunity to do a little more and mark off my list. The kids even noticed and started randomly doing jumping jacks, situps and jump rope all weekend! Thanks so much!!!

    • Janet – Fantastic! Bravo! Your posts make me laugh because of your kids getting involved – that’s just too great. Congratulations on completing the challenge! I agree that breaking it up is the way to do it and I am really glad to hear that the boot camp has given you a new found motivation – me too! ~Kaqrma

Comments are closed.