healthy body / healthy mind / healthy spirit / Inperspire

What A Difference A Day Makes

Dinah Washington


What a difference a day makes, twenty-four little hours…
 

Dinah Washington was so right.  Twenty-four little hours can make all the difference.  About three weeks ago I began to really struggle to run the same “bits and pieces” and “hills” that I had worked so hard to conquer.  Mentally, I was too tired to even try to run, physically, it just wasn’t happening.  I began to fret about it…how could I have lost the strength and stamina to do things that I had been doing (fairly) easily just four weeks before?  Would I ever get back to the same level or did this signal a downward spiral (okay, downward spiral is a little overly dramatic, but you get what I mean).  

Then I realized that what I needed most was rest.  I mean real rest.  I took a break from all (well, most) of the things that consume my time after work, and I merely and quite simply rested.  I didn’t work out for 24 hours.  I didn’t even think about it.  When I woke up this morning, my first thought was not, “I need to work out”, instead, I got up, drank some homemade ice coffee (I have a great recipe, if you are interested, let me know), and then I sat on the couch and talked with Jimmy about our day.  It was so nice.  And then a strange thing happened…I suddenly felt like going for a walk.  So I got ready with the idea that if I felt like it, I would run, but if I didn’t feel like it, then no worries.  Guess what happened?  At the place where I typically begin my run, I thought, “why not try it and see how you feel”.  I started to run and I felt fine — I mean good — actually — I felt awesome.  I realized that what I had needed most was to give myself a physical and mental break.  Our bodies tell us when we need to rest, we need to listen.  Our minds tell us when we need a break, we need to listen. 

So, while I am certain that when Dinah sings, “What a difference a day makes, twenty-four little hours…”, she isn’t singing about the need to take a rest from our workout routines, however, it was the song that popped into my mind as I began running today: 

What a difference a day made
Twenty-four little hours
Brought the sun and the flowers
Where there used to be rain 

So, I’m curious, how does a day of rest make you feel?

 

Have a blissful Thursday. 

P.S.  If you want to give yourself a real treat, click on the link to “What a Difference a Day Makes”, or click Dinah’s picture, then close your eyes, and just listen.  I think you will agree it is a great way to spend 2:30 seconds of 24 little hours.

17 thoughts on “What A Difference A Day Makes

  1. I worked out 7 days a week when I was young & stupid. I learned. I take 1-2 days off per week now & yes, with my crazy wokrouts, I need it, I love it & I don’t feel guilty just enjoying! It feels great! Karma, great post!

    Great workout too.. cardio, legs, back, abs/core!

    And today, I get the gray hair colored over.. YAHOO!

  2. I wish I could take the day off and not go for my walk, but Dano needs it and so do I. Both of us need to get rid of the cookies we ate last night.

    I don’t have any plans today, so we will see what surprises I get in the next few hours. I think I will take Jimmy’s suggestion and try another route this morning.

    Karma you sound so tired and with all you are doing right now, anyone would be. Take care.
    Have a good day. Momb

  3. Great post. Sometimes we get so caught up in the distance, pace, time, # or reps, etc… that we create more stress and pressure for ourselves. I started running to REDUCE stress so when I get to that point, I know it’s okay to take a break. I pitched my watch for the month of May – I just ran to be running and didn’t track time and pace. It took a lot of pressure off keeping up with the “Jones’s” of the running world!

  4. I’m in a rush to get to work, so I will comment more later, but I wanted to let you know that the Gold Star Challenge for June is posted (and some of you already have gold stars)! This month we are combining BINGO with Exercise – it should be interesting. Have a great day! Thanks for all the inspiration you send our way.

  5. Jamie Cullum has a great version of the song, What a Difference a Day Makes, too! I have heard that one or two days rest is important when working out, too…that even on the Biggest Loser the contestants have one or two days rest a week.

    After the three-day holiday weekend, I’ve started on my first June Gold Star Challenge. The Bingo part of it sounds fun!

    So far, so good!
    June 1: 45-minutes resistance training
    June 2: 1-hour Zumba class
    June 3 (this morning): 45 minutes new strength training routine…lunges to push-ups, chin-ups, squats…Zumba feels more fun, but I know that resistance training is important and try to do that every other day.

    So three for three for June! Tomorrow is my scheduled rest day. 🙂

  6. Mary, you are doing great, good to have you along for the ride. I think that it is good to mix it up, you can see my post from a few days ago called mixing it up, I do a Jimmy thing post once a week where I talk about a wide range of things that are stuck in my head. Today I have been doing office work all day, but I am taking a break soon for weights and a long walk, I still should not run because of a sore ankle, but I did run after, and caught, a child in a run away shopping cart in the Target parking lot.

  7. Are you kidding Jimmy! You are really becoming a “Super Hero.” That is neat.

    I took your advice. Took another route and Dano decided to eat a dead bird along the roadway. Oh well, a new adventure….Get better soon. M.

  8. Jimmy, thanks for your encouraging post. It’s great to be along for the ride with such a motivated and insightful group! 🙂 Your post was good timing. I’m waiting to hear back from my doctor about a possible stress fracture in my foot (from hiking) and felt a little discouraged…but resistence training and cycling will still be fine since there’s no impact on the foot. Shouldn’t have danced at Zumba last night…but it was so much fun! Got my towels in the mail today! They are great and also lifted my spirits! It’s good to be a part of this group. Hopefully I’ll have good news from my doctor in my next post to the group!

  9. I am loving the idea of BINGO with exercise! So much fun! I suppose to should post my workouts since the gold stars help me! This month I will not workout every single day, that was the most boring thing ever..lol.

    June 1st: Cardio workout +Zumba
    June 2nd: Core workout + Hit It
    June 3rd: Rest!!!!! :]

    xo

  10. Why Karma, you are so clever..trying to get me inspired through Bingo..it worked.You know how much I love to win at games. I love the rest post, sometimes I rest to much but I always go back to what I love …exercise.

  11. I did not go for my walk, when Darla came home I made the mistake of telling her that my ankle still hurt, so she took a look at it and saw that it was swollen and the walk was off. I did do some arm weights, but I do not think that it deserves a star.

  12. :(-ly (that’s supposed to represent the word sadly), I let work keep me from working out today. My work day starts early tomorrow, which spells a bit of trouble for my workout, but let’s see what happens.

    Thanks to everyone for all the great comments and the extraordinary spirit – if we could bottle our spirit we could probably fix the entire world.

Comments are closed.