Boot Camp / Inperspire

Hooah! Boot Camp 3 &…

InPerspire B-I-N-G-O

If you have not already done so, select your Bingo card before reading the first four words.

Bingo words for June are:

June 1:  run
June 2:  jillian
June 3:  bob 
June 4:  stretching

Boot Camp 3 –Bring IT On!

A little something to get you inspired for WEEK 3!  Drill Sergeant Wake Em’ Up Now.

Boot Camp 3

  • 200 jumping jacks
  • 300 jump ropes
  • 50 high knees
  • 50 side-to-side lateral jumps*
  • 50 hop scotch**
  • 100 squats
  • 100 push ups
  • 100 crunches

Boot Camp begins Friday and ends Sunday at midnight. Let us know you’re in (up) for the challenge (shouting it out helps with accountability) and on Monday’s post let us know whether you were able to complete this week’s challenge. At the end of this week’s challenge you will be tougher and stronger for having done the challenge AND you can grab a badge for your blog/website/personal calendar. You will also be added to our Boot Camp Roll Call — hooah!

Have a great weekend!

Here are explanations for some of the exercises that are not self-explanatory 🙂

*Side-to-Side Lateral Jump:  Place a small (low in height) object such as a piece of tape or a rope on the floor.  Stand on one side of the object and bend your knees into a slight squat.   Jump over the object, landing with knees slightly bent.  Jump from side to side for desired number of counts.  Be sure to use an object that won’t move/slide if you land on it.

**Hop scotch: Even though the person in this video is using an agility ladder, if you don’t have an agility ladder (I don’t), then just do them in place or make an impromptu one with tape or string.  Hop Scotch video.

22 thoughts on “Hooah! Boot Camp 3 &…

  1. Back from my walk at 7:53am, yes that is early for me, but Darla has a meeting at 9:00 so we had to go early. I think I am in for the boot camp, but we need to see if my ankle is in. I think that I will do some weights before I start working. Hope all of you have a great Friday.

  2. Forrest and Jenny, aka, Karma, were out early today – early for us! Because of Jimmy’s super human powers of persuasion, I got out of bed and went walking today and I did the first 75 jumping jacks from the boot camp challenge.

  3. I forgot to tell you I failed week 2. 😦 However, I am in and absolutely going to complete week 3. Thanks for keeping me going!

    • Now, I wouldn’t say failed, I would just say…you decided that you wanted to wait and save your strength for this week 🙂 Glad you’re with us. ~Karma

    • ok… I just watched the videos for the rope climbers and the heel touches…. Looks interesting. My abs hurt already!

      • I did the heel touches in the Boot Camp class at my gym and there were just awesome. I think we had to do them for 60 seconds straight in boot camp class and my stomach felt it the next day. ~Karma

      • LOL Karma! I thought the exact same thing when I watched the Hop Scotch video. I was thinking about taping it out on the sidewalk so we can do it anytime! We had to go by another jump rope last night so all three of us can jump at the same time. Now to get my husband hooked too 🙂

  4. Wanted to share this with the group…somewhat related to yesterday’s post on rest days. 🙂
    Sometimes I feel guilty taking off, but this was reassuring!

    From LOSING IT! With Jillian Michaels
    Friday, June 04, 2010

    Take Your Vacation Days!
    Ah, vacation…that precious time away from the hectic pace of life and the stress of work. Have you taken a vacation lately? If not, why not?! With all the travel deals available these days, you can put together a pretty amazing trip on the cheap. And if you don’t have a lot of extra cash right now, there’s always the good old “staycation,” in which you can just relax at home. If you’re the type who feels guilty taking days off, let me tell you — taking your vacation time is important to your health!

    Sadly, overtime has become the norm in the American workplace. While the overtime might get you a promotion, research shows it definitely doesn’t help your peace of mind. Researchers have found higher rates of anxiety and depression in men and women who work overtime, compared with people who work 40 hours a week or less.

    Even if you aren’t working overtime, chances are you’re working too much. It’s estimated that one out of every three workers doesn’t take his or her allocated vacation time. Your bosses may appreciate all that hard work (at least, they’d better!), but your heart certainly doesn’t. One study suggested that an annual vacation was a lifesaver for middle-aged men at risk of coronary heart disease. At-risk men who got away once a year were 32 percent less likely to die from heart disease than were those who never took a vacation. Another study found that when compared with women who vacationed twice a year or more, women who seldom took vacations — once every six years — were eight times as likely to develop coronary heart disease. Don’t make yourself a sitting duck for a heart attack. You earned that vacation — take it!

    • Hey Mary 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this with us – and it’s from Jillian which makes me like it even more. Vacations seem to be going the way of the dinosaurs. Especially the kinds of vacations that people really need, ones that last about 2 weeks (1 week to decompress and another week to really settle in and enjoy yourself). I am taking Jillian’s advice to heart and figuring out a way to take a serious vacation this year.

  5. Oh, I’m hoping I can get through this. Realistically, it is a busy weekend and running has to be a priority.

    I love the Bingo Cards, though. My oldest son (9) wants one too.

    Ran last night, out for another tonight.

    Cynthia

    • I think running must come first — then if the boot camp happens it does 🙂 Of course your oldest son can play too! Hope you have another good run tonite.

  6. Good luck to everyone with their fitness goals this weekend. And thanks for so much encouragment and motivation this week. Today was my rest day. 🙂 Resistance training and cardio this weekend.

  7. I am definitely hoping to Zumba this weekend!!! 🙂 Just started Zumba classes this spring…but it is like a reward rather than a work-out for me!!

  8. I also did some weights today after my walk and when I was working. Every time I would make some tea I would set my timer for 3 minutes and do weights non-stop for the 3 minutes, that way I was able to work and lift weights.

Comments are closed.