Art of Breathing

The Art of Breathing

 Today’s Art of Breathing is brought to us by our Seattle Crew. 


In wildness is the preservation of the world. ~Thoreau

“People need wild places. Whether or not we think we do, we do. We need to be able to taste grace and know once again that we desire it. We need to experience a landscape that is timeless, whose agenda moves at a pace of [speciation and] glaciers. To be surrounded by a singing, mating, howling commotion of other species, all of which love their lives as much as we do ours; and none of which could possibly care less about our economic status or our running day calendar. Wildness puts us in our place. It reminds us that our own plans are small and somewhat absurd. It reminds us why, in those cases in which our plans might influence many future generations, we ought to choose carefully. Looking out on a clean plank of planet earth, we can get shaken right down to the bone by the bronze-eyed possibility of lives that are not our own’.  — Barbara Kingsolver from “Knowing Our Place”. 

So, my advice today — Some time this week, do what you do with wild abandon and unbridled joy.  Whether it’s doing jumping jacks and running, or sitting quietly and reading a book, or cooking dinner for your family, or hiking a new trail, be carefree in what you do.  For just one day, live among the Wild Things, like Max.   

“And now, let the wild rumpus start!” 
 

15 thoughts on “The Art of Breathing

  1. I feel wild today, but I feel wild on most days. I will report back on my exercise.

  2. Hey WILD man, You really are wild most days.

    Karma, I have a great idea!!!–I think you should start a camp for old people and call it sandal camp. ha If you lift your feet off the floor more than an inch you sandals will fly off. I’m still trying to do some of the modified stuff.

    Went for a brisk walk this morning. A lot of scoccer people at the park so we had to hurry along. Now back to yard work and who knows what else. Love to read all the posts. M.

  3. The sun is out and I am feeling a wild bike ride coming our way. We will report our mileage later. I hope you all enjoyed the picture, we took it last weekend. We are very lucky to be able to experience some of the most beautiful wild life here in Seattle…. oh and the animals too!

  4. P.S. For all of you wondering what type bird this is…it is a young Bald Eagle before it is fully developed. They do not get their white hoods until they are approx. 1 year old 🙂

  5. Oh, I have had a wild morning – too much to write about and no one would believe it. But it makes life fun.

    Hey, my 9 year old grabbed a bingo card too. It’s motivating him to get out on his bike more. You should have seen his face at first, though; “You mean I have to run 10K?” Once I explained everything, he was pretty excited to jump on board. Gosh, I hope he scores Bingo before I do.

    • Cynthia – I am curious about your wild morning! I am so happy that your son wants to play. Just thinking about him thinking he had to run a 10k makes me smile. ~Karma

  6. We are a wild bunch today. I love everyone’s comments. I had a wild thing happen to me today too while out on my run. I will post about it soon.

    I walked/jogged a 5k, at the end I did my 200 jumping jacks and 300 jump ropes (but now I just realized that I think we only had to do 200 jump ropes, oh well).

    Big news (for me), I weigh 137! Yahoo. Whoppee. I never thought I would see that number again. After I reached 138, which was huge milestone for me, I hovered around 139-140 for about 3 weeks, now today, bingo (well, not literally, bingo, as in the game, but more along the lines of bada bing bada bing-o).

  7. Had a workshop to attend all day today. But I passed on the chips and cookies and grabbed an apple instead to go with my sandwich! 🙂 It was catered by Panara Bread, so it was REALLY hard to pass up the HUGE cookies, but I did it.

    Just got back from an hour at the gym…more weights and resistance training. It’s so much more fun when I listen to music…especially when I do my more challenging exercised like chin-ups. 🙂

    Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend.

  8. I skipped the challenge last weekend because I was too busy celebrating my birthday — I love getting better, which is how I think of it, not older!! and a minor surgery at the beginning of the week sidelined me for a bit (ok, maybe I am getting older), but I am back! Walked 4 mi today and 200 crunches!

  9. Good for you Mary passing on cookies is such a hard thing to do. Carolyn miles and crunches awesome!

    Greg and I rode 30 miles on our mountain bikes and discovered that we should be riding road bikes for the distance rides…sore.

Comments are closed.