Boot Camp / fitness intensity

Hooah! You Know What That Means!

Yes, it’s our IVth and final Boot Camp Weekend!  It has been suggested that since June’s theme of the month is “Bring It On!” that our final challenge this week might be called “Booty Camp”!  So, in the spirit of booty camp we will work our behinds especially hard this weekend. 

Boot Camp Challenge Week 4

50 jumping jacks
20 hop & pops*
50 seal jacks**
300 jump ropes
100 side-to-side lateral jumps
50 squats
50 plie squats
50 curtsy lunges***
100 push ups
25 planks with leg lifts
100 crunches
50 heel touchers
50 rope climbers

Boot Camp begins Friday and ends Sunday at midnight. Let us know you’re in (up) for the challenge and on Monday’s post let us know whether you were able to complete this fourth and final boot camp challenge.  Having completed the three other challenges, I can honestly say I feel stronger mentally and physically and I have begun to look forward the weekend challenges!  Hooah!  If you finish this week’s challenge grab a badge for your blog/website/personal calendar and let everyone know what you accomplished.  You will also be added to our Boot Camp Roll Call.

And, one final thing, the InPerspire Bingo word of the day is: sit ups

Talk, Walk, and Be Proud!

*Hop and Pops: Do five jumping jacks, then drop to the floor and immediately do five pushups. Get right back up to do 5 more jumping jacks, and then down for five more pushups.  Do a total of 10 repetitions.  Modified push ups, as always, are fine.

**Seal Jacks:  Start by jumping out with both feet, arms out to the side like the picture below, then jump in crossing feet and arms, then out, then in.

  

***Curtsy Lunge:

Photo and instructions from Fitness Magazine

  • Stand with feet hip-width apart, hands on hips.
  • Lunge back with left leg, crossing left foot behind right; bend both knees 90 degrees, keeping right knee directly above right ankle.
  • Return to start.
  • Switch legs; repeat. Do 20 reps, alternating sides.

NOTE:  You do not need to go as deeply into the lunge as this model.  Just cross the leg behind and pretend like you are doing a curtsy for a queen or king or whoever you choose, the lunge can just be a small dip, do what you can.

10 thoughts on “Hooah! You Know What That Means!

  1. Yay! Zumba for the Cure is tonight!!
    Looking forward to it!

    “There are shortcuts to happiness, and dance is one of them.” ~Vicki Baum

    TGIF!!

    • Mary – We will see you there 🙂 I love your quote about dance – it is so, so true (at least from my perspective). By the way, Dana just sent me a text message that echoed your TGIF sentiment. Seems we all really need the weekend. ~Karma

  2. No zumba for me but does walking to a beat count? It does sound fun though.

    Almost cold here today. Our walk was a pretty brisk one. But the good thing—My furnace works great. Have fun tonight. M.

  3. I am not sure about this furnace stuff in SLC, I do not think that my AC has turned off for a few days.

    This is a great day, Zumba for the Cure, Boot Camp, and it is Friday, we are some lucky people in St Louis.

    I am in for the Boot Camp, no sore ankle this weekend, so I will start the boot camp today, and get all of our InPerspire fitness towels ready for ZFTC2010.

  4. I’m off to Zumba for the Cure 2010! 2 Hours of booty shaking that will be followed by Booty Boot Camp this weekend! Count me in too :).

  5. Just finished 2 hours, well, 1.5 hours of Zumba. Oh my goodness, it was SO MUCH FUN, but am I tired! I met Mary! Yay!! It was so nice. Can you imagine that she got asked on the stage by Tony Witt?! She was awesome! I yelled her name, it was like she was rock star. And, Tony Witt, was the most awesome thing ever. I wish I could be him. Okay, time for pizza and wine, and probably sleep very soon afterwards. As they say in Kenya, “lala salama”, sleep peacefully.

Comments are closed.