Inperspire / making healthy changes

Eat like a Dinosaur

Monday, Monday, Monday (That reminds me of Marsha, Marsha, Marsha, but that’s another story.)   Many people do not like Mondays — but we, at InPerspire, LOVE them.  We think it is all in your perspective.  For us, Mondays are the start of a brand new week when everything is possible.  There are even studies to suggest “we are more likely to maintain behaviors begun on Monday throughout the rest of the week” (Healthy Monday).  These studies have inspired a campaign focused on making healthy changes each Monday.

One way to be healthier is by going meatless on Mondays.  Meatless Monday is a public health initiative started in 2003 in association with the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future.  According to this initiative:

Going meatless once a week may reduce your risk of chronic preventable conditions like cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes and obesity. It can also help reduce your carbon footprint and save precious resources like fresh water and fossil fuel.  Source: Meatless Monday (you can get more info from the site).

A Famous Carnivore

So even if you are carnivore, going meatless once a week certainly can’t hurt and it has the potential to do a lot of good for you and for the planet.

Here is an excerpt from an article written by CNN on the Meatless Monday phenomenon:

“The concept of Meatless Monday is not new. During World War I, the U.S. Food Administration called for “Meatless Mondays” and “Wheatless Wednesdays” to aid war effort. It told the public that “Food Will Win the War” though the effort to reserve food to be shipped to American servicemen abroad.

Food activist and author of “The Omnivore’s Dilemma”, Michael Pollan, participates in Meatless Mondays.  He states: “To the extent we push meat a little bit to the side and move vegetables to the center of our diet, we’re also going to be a lot healthier,” he said.

Celebrity chef and cookbook author Katie Lee publicly participates in Meatless Mondays, often offering up her meat-free eats on her Twitter (@katieleekitchen) account.

In June 2009, even a Beatle got in on the “all you need is vegetables” action.  Paul McCartney…launched Meat Free Monday in the United Kingdom to raise awareness about the climate-changing effects of meat production and consumption.  “Having one designated meat-free day a week is actually a meaningful change that everyone can make, that goes to the heart of several important political, environmental and ethical issues all at once,” Paul McCartney, a long-outspoken vegetarian, said.  “For instance it not only addresses pollution, but better health, the ethical treatment of animals, global hunger and community and political activism.”

Entire cities are promoting a weekly meat hiatus.  San Francisco became the first official Meatless Monday city in the United States on April 7.”

So, give it some thought, on this Monday and every Monday, eat less like a tyrannosaurus and more like a stegosaurus 🙂

Can’t wait to hear your Booty Boot Camp stories and triumphs.  Happy Meatless Monday!

P.S.  The InPerspire Bingo word for the day is: biggest loser

Also, Jimmy found this image when I was looking for my dinosaur pics and he loved it so much that I promised him I would include it in today’s post.

17 thoughts on “Eat like a Dinosaur

  1. OMG, that pic is too funny!!!!!!!

    I have a couple days I don’t do meat per say but have protein powder in things…. not a tofu fan.

    GREAT all weight workout! Done & time for some addl sleep since I work out at crazy hours!

    • I thought the picture was funny too – and Jimmy loves any picture with dogs in it! You do work out at crazy hours – is it because the gym is less crowded then so you can get your workout done in the sequence you need? Glad you go meatless a few days week. Have great Monday!

  2. Headed out for the usual. It’s cool this morn. but at least not raining. (Yet)

    Something to think about, not having meat one day a week. At our house it’s the three meal deal, meat, veggies, and potatoes almost everynight. I will put my brain to work and think of alternatives for tonight. I also loved the pic. of the dog, reminds me of Dottie.

    Everyone have a good day. M.

    • I hope SLC starts to warm up – it’s June! Yes, the three meal deal can get us into trouble…I am really excited to hear that you are going to do a Meatless Monday. It will be good to try something new and to do something new and think how healthy and happy you will be. Jimmy will post Meatless Monday recipes to help. What about spinach lasagne – it is so good – or tostadas (minus the meat), stuffed peppers, Greek pasta salad (with Olive garden dressing)…I could go on and on. Just let us know. I love it that you are thinking about it.

  3. Oh my goodness, Mary! I can’t believe you hurt your foot/leg! (To catch up on Mary’s news see her post from yesterday.) I am so sorry to hear this. When I didn’t see you at Zumba, with your sister, I thought you must have decided to go to breakfast or somethng else super fun; I never thought you might be sidelined by an injury – at a water park no less. I personally wouldn’t have been brave enough to go down a water slide. I hope you keep your spirits up and we will do our best to help you do the same. How are you feeling today? You will have to give us a day to day report on your recovery. Positive thoughts coming your way :).

    • Hi, Karma. Thanks for the positive thoughts. I love the Healthy Monday website and the emails I get from Healthy Monday each Monday. Feeling better today…those positive thoughts coming my way must be working! 🙂 Even started teaching two new classes today and had a blast! I really like your attitude about Mondays…about it being a clean slate and a new start to a new week!

      Way to go completing boot camp in just ninety minutes!!

      And I love the picture of the puppy dressed as a dinosaur!

      Hope everyone had a great start to their week!

  4. Went for a 5k walk today. We were very sore after doing the entire boot camp after walking a 5k on Saturday! Yes, we did the entire boot camp within a 1.5 hour period. It was a lot of fun. Jimmy and I encouraged each other and marked things off the list together. On the final hop and pops I was barely able to do 5 modified push ups, but I felt so good afterwards. It’s roll call for me. How about you?

    I now weight 136 lbs which I attribute, in part, to the boot camps because it has pushed me that extra little bit :).

  5. Well Mary I guess you used your tickets for Six Flags that you won at ZFTC2010, I hope you feel are back on your feet again soon.
    I did the boot camp all in about 1 hour and I am sore, but it was fun.
    Today we went for a 5k walk, my ankle is still sore, I may do some weights, I have a ton of InPerspire work to do, and I need to go to TJ’s today.
    I think I will have a busy meat free day.

  6. A million years later and I have finally gotten my computer back, and can catch up with life…lol. After reading this post this morning I decided that I will be partaking in Meatless Monday’s! I am a meat eater, and probably always will be. I am a chicken fan, other than chicken I could go without meat. So I will be going meatless on mondays and maybe add other meatless days to my week. Only having chicken once in awhile.

    Here is the catch up on my workout dates
    4,5,6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14
    Now I will finally be able to keep up with this.

    Oh and I am now addicted to protein powder! Thanks for being so sweet and sending it to me to try out! It keeps me so full and it’s the perfect thing that I needed!

    xo missed you!

    • Hi Erica! I am so glad you are back among us – I can’t imagine how you survived without your computer!!! It is so good to hear your “voice” again. We missed you 🙂

      I am glad you like the BL protein powder. I love the raspberry and I was hoping you would too.

      I am also glad to hear that you will be partaking in Meatless Mondays. I used to be a hamburger fan. I loved hamburgers so much that when I moved out of the house to go to college my parents bought me a hamburger grill (this was before the days of the George Forman) as a house warming gift. That still makes me laugh.

      I will get your gold stars up-to-date. Do you have all the Bingo words? I can give you a list that will make it easier for you.

      And, thanks again for offering up the gold star challenge schwag this month. I am so excited. I just realized, however, that if I want to have a chance at winning this month I need to get my rear in gear because I only have about 6 days worth of workouts so far this month…is that possible? I better double check that.

  7. I love meat! So this is a big one for me, not really but it is for Greg. We will try to go meatless Mondays but you may want to keep June locked up!!! Jimmy, I love your picture it is a very beautiful dinosaur. Monday is madness at our house so no exercise for me today.

  8. Mary, I just read your post from yesterday, I am so sorry you are hurt. Just keep positive thoughts and exercise your other 3 limbs!!

  9. I bet you thought I forgot you guys this weekend! Wrong! I was faithfully doing my boot camp challenge and wondering what the heck I would do in the coming weeks now that it’s over. Guess I’ll start again at week 1 and see if it’s gotten any easier! 🙂 I finished, but unlike you superstars, I had to do mine in more than an hour and a half time-frame!

    • Janet! I am was so hoping you were going to post and say you finished! I was started to get worried and now the world is right again :). Really, it’s a big accomplishment because I know that boot camp was LONG. In the middle of it, I actually thought, “what was I thinking?” I will add your name to the roll call boot camp. Be proud! There are just three of us – as far as I know – maybe we will have some more late posts.

      By the way, I am going to dish out unofficial challenges each weekend until we start up officially again, because I found it so helpful. I hope you will join me. Cheers!

  10. ah……turns out i’m not dead……….I suppose July will be my new January……..and the rest of this month will to get me where I was…….I am so behind on everything……This bingo stuff sounds very fun but in the midst of my extreme mix up of things in my life I have failed to make time for much of anything I should be doing……I made it to the gym today……..I’ve been going to school four days a week and then working six…….my brian is so lost……to make it all worse I have no money to show that I have been working six days because the new place I work at is one…… super duper slow and then also pay periods are two weeks and then DELAYED two weeks….I’m dying…..so I am going to try to use exercise as therapy……..wish me luck!!!!! Talk to you guys tomorrow!!!!

    • Welcome back, Smith. We are so glad you are not dead and are back among the living 🙂 . I will leave you a comment on Tuesday’s post so you can see it when you arrive there.

Comments are closed.