healthy mind / Inperspire

What a Woman’s Worth

I was looking for something inspirational today, and I found it.

“A WOMAN IS OFTEN MEASURED by the things she cannot control. She is measured by the way her body curves or doesn’t curve, by where she is flat or straight or round. She is measured by 36-24-26 and inches and ages and numbers, by all the outside things that don’t ever add up to who she is on the inside. And so if a woman is to be measured, let her be measured by the things she can control, by who she is and who she is trying to become. Because every woman knows measurements are only statistics and STATISTICS LIE.” – 1994 Nike Campaign Ad

We could also extend this idea to men.  Men are measured by how much money they make, what kind of car they drive, what kind of job they hold, how tall they are, how muscular they are…when are we going to realize that none of this matters?

 There should be measurements for kindess or for how well and how much a person is able to love.  Now, that would be worth measuring.

It’s Thursday – one day away from Friday.  Be Yourself – Just do It!

P.S.  InPerspire Bingo word of the day:  sweat. 

Behind, but not forgotten.

Also, you have probably noticed that I am two days behind (thus, the picture) on my gold stars.  I will catch up, I promise.

10 thoughts on “What a Woman’s Worth

  1. All true Karma. We all measure ourselves trying to be someone we are not. I’ve decided to be happy with me (still would like to be tighter, trimmer and fit) but it will all come if I do what I am supposed to do.

    It is cold here again this morning. When we left for the a.m. trip it was 40 degrees. With all the fur Dano has, he loved it. I, on the other hand would like not wearing my jacket everyday. But so would he. Oh well, tomorrow it is supposed the be almost 80 degrees. Have a good day.

    Momb

    • You are, of course, perfect just the way you are! What I find interesting is that I honestly don’t think people see the same person we see when we look in the mirror. I think they actually “see” an aura of who were are inside – that’s why they don’t see the faults we do – what they see is our beauty radiating from us. It better be warm by the time I arrive!

  2. Today is an off day as far as traditional exercise is concerned, all of my muscles are sore and they need rest. Also, I have a ton of work to do and that is before I go to TJ’s for 8 hours of cross training.
    Time to go, I hope that I can fit into my Ferrari, with being 7 feet tall, but first I need to find a shirt that can fit over my huge muscles, and a wallet that can hold all of my money, and after all that I am going to drive my exspensive Ferrari to my job that pays me 7 trillon $ an hour, because I am a man.

    • Jimmy – you crack me up. I finally got to read all the posts today and here was yours. You are silly. See you at 11 tonite when I pick you up in your “Ferrari”. ~karma

  3. Thanks for the great post!
    I love so many of the NIKE mantras!

    Yesterday was the first day I walked without limping!!! Yay! I could imagine Zumba-ing again! 🙂

    • First – yay! for walking! The fact that you are imagining yourself zumba-ing again is a good sign :). Nike does have the best ad campaigns – they inspire me every time. ~karma

  4. And, what is interesting is that women are measured quantitatively whereas men are measured qualitatively – generally speaking.

    Acts of kindness, goodness of heart – those are things that can’t be seen either way. They are felt, permanent and treasured.

Comments are closed.