healthy spirit / Inperspire

So You Think You Can Dance?

I confess, I love So You Think You Can Dance, or, SYTYCD, as it is fondly known to its fans.  I have loved dance since I was a wee tot (see picture below) and I feel happiest when I am dancing, which is why SYTYCD is just so good for me.  Nigel Lythgoe, one of the show’s producers, has dubbed July 31 as National Dance Day.  According to the SYTYCD website, ” National Dance Day is a grassroots initiative that encourages the nation, young and old, to move!  Individuals, families, organizations and communities from across the nation come together through their creative expression in dance. Any style of dance is welcome and imagination is recommended in order to get the most out of this celebratory day.” 

And guess what?  They have choreographed a hip hop number especially for all of us!  Yes, we are lucky.  Check out the hip hop routine choreographed by Napoleon and Tabitha D’umo (affectionately known as “NappyTabs”), for National Dance Day (you can also see the routine on the Dizzy Feat Foundation site where you can learn more about the Dizzy Feat Foundation mission).  “NappyTabs” break down the routine into eight segments.  I tried a bit of it tonite, but I am getting down to serious business to learn the routine tomorrow night.  It’s fast, but I think it can be done.  Wanna’ give it a try?  It will definitely stretch your mind and muscles. 

So what’s the point of having a National Dance Day?  “It will empower, challenge and inspire everyone to try various styles of dance ranging from hip-hop to ballroom to anything that moves. Above all, it will encourage everyone to DANCE as a means to stay fit and be healthy.”  (National Dance Day website).  C’mon, it should be fun!  Any takers?

Karma the ballerina :).

P.S.  I still stand that way today.

P.P.S.  The InPerspire Bingo word of the day is: strength.

9 thoughts on “So You Think You Can Dance?

    • You are always welcome, Mary, and thanks for your nice comments yesterday. Do you think your ankle, after the swelling is completely gone. will allow you to bike ride?

      • I sure hope to be bike riding when my ankle is better! I love being outside to exercise! 🙂

        By the way…I thought that was a great pic of you when you were little. 🙂 I like how you wrote that you still stand that way! 🙂

  1. I do not know anything about dance, but I do like the show, and I know what looks good, and let me tell you, Darla can dance and she looks good when she dances.
    Busy day today, after a late day yesterday, I have inventory to finish with and shipping to do, and I would like to stop working by 3:00, we will see how this plays out.

  2. Jimmy- I don’t even know what to say about your comments…they just make me smile :).

    Today is Friday. I need Friday. I am also looking forward to Saturday because I will get to run/walk with Jimmy and then Sunday we are going bike riding.

    I got so excited about National Dance Day that I forgot to give a boot camp challenge to be added to your regular workouts and finished by next Friday. I will post the challenge for this week on tomorrow’s post. Bring it on!

  3. OK, that pic is just way too cute!!!!!!!!!!! I did ballet & tap as a kid too!

    Love the word of the day & sticking with that! REST DAY for me but maybe a bit of dancing in the house won’t hurt! 🙂

  4. I can’t dance at all but it sure is fun to watch everyone else, espically after a few beverages, Dana.

    We did go for our usual walk and then the shopping non stop for the rest of the day. We are not through yet tho. It’s home depot for the second time today in just a few hours. We did the yard work last nite so guess it’s ok to just shop today huh? Love your post Karma… M.

  5. There is something magical about dance – the freedom to move along, with others, be serious or silly. Dancing has no borders; anyone can do it no matter what their talent.

    My sons love to dance. I love to dance. Hubby, well, he puts up with us dancing.

    Soccer on Wednesday, ran last night, walking the dog tonight. My goal next month is to keep you up to date! This past month was so busy at work that I kept forgetting to add my fitness plan.

    Have a great weekend.

Comments are closed.