healthy spirit / Inperspire

What do Naked-Mohawk Baby Carrot Jockeys…

have to do with exercise?  Nothing!  Except perhaps that I seriously exercised my abs laughing at this “Cake Wreck”.  Cake Wrecks is a wonderful site (and book) dedicated to cakes that have gone bad – not in the sense that they have gone bad and need to do jail time, but in the sense that somewhere along the way communications got mixed up and/or bad decisions were made about pictures that should or shouldn’t be put on cakes.  The result — ridiculous spectacles like the one below.

Cake Wrecks

But, you know what’s better than this Cake Wreck?  The commentary written by Jen at Cake Wreck who is also responsible for this fantastically funny site: Cake Wrecks: When professional cakes go horribly, hilariously wrong.

This cake is so disturbing, I’m almost glad the picture doesn’t include the whole thing. The plastic clone babies wearing naught but mohawks are bad enough, but then they’re also riding carrots. What do you do with that? It looks like some kind of perverted vegetable rodeo, or maybe a bizarre clone military exercise, what with their little plastic fists raised high in identical salutes.

And what kind of occasion calls for a “naked babies riding carrots” decor, anyway? No, wait, maybe I don’t want to know…

A friend of mine at work (Jennifer), who I also refer to as a Goddess and a Jedi and the Queen of Clusterama (she can explain our curriculum like no other), brought this site to my attention.  After seeing this cake with naked babies riding frosting carrots, Jennifer went to Hobby Lobby and bought the babies and vegetables and glue dots so that we could make our own (she knew I needed a lift today and obviously knew that only something this crazy would do the trick).  We then took a picture of our “carrot jockeys”.  Enjoy :).

Vegetable Jockeys

What can I say about all this?  It was a slow day at the office.  Enjoy the silliness.  Enjoy your weekend.

13 thoughts on “What do Naked-Mohawk Baby Carrot Jockeys…

  1. It’s disturbing that she was also able to find naked babies with mohawks! I didn’t know they were commonly sold in craft stores.

    • T-unit – Yes, I was so surprised when Jennifer came back with the exact babies and tiny little vegetables to go with them. I took a picture of them last night on my windowsill – it is so funny! I will send to you :).

      By the way, I liked your latest updates on goodreads. For anyone who is interested, goodreads is a site about the books you are reading or have read. It is a lot of fun to see what your friends are reading, what they like, and what they don’t like. Maybe I will do a post on it later in the week. ~Karma

  2. Hey I know what I want for my birthday cake. That is pretty funny. I will check out the site before today is over.

    I stayed in bed and rested again this morning while the Mr. took Dano out for his walk. Guess I must be tired from the week before and need a little time off. I will get back to what little exercise I get tonight after we get all the work done around the yard.

    Hope all have a good holiday. T-unit, head for the craft store today, you may find all kinds of things you weren’t expecting. M.

    • You know, I can definitely see this cake in your future around July 18th! Resting is good because, contrary to what you believe, you do get a lot of exercise. It may not be traditional boot camp or gym work, but it is exercise nonetheless. ~Karma

  3. That is hilarious! I am not showing it to my boys; Daddy’s birthday is coming up and I don’t want to give them any ideas or they’ll turn it into a 50 year old version. Yikes!

    It’s finally getting hotter here. Going out for a sweat run later today and, I have to admit, I’m dreading it a bit. It’s the first time I’ve had my 4 year old in the jogger in over 2 weeks.

    Happy Fourth of July, everyone!

    • Yes, I think we all have to be careful who we show the Cake Wrecks too because I think we will then be seeing them at one of our parties soon! I forgot to tell you what Jen at Cake Wrecks calls the people responsible for these cakes: wreckerators :). Have fun on your sweat run. I hope your youngest does well in the jogger and you have a fabulous run.

  4. I think that is a great picture and we should have those all over the house. Today went for a good run through the park. Also we did 25 push ups, 50 jumping jacks, 25 seal jacks, 50 rope climbs, 50 crunches, and 50 of something else. Feeling good.

  5. Today we veered away from our normal course and pushed ourselves by starting to run sooner, incorporating two very large hills, and running longer. We shortened the distance, but ran more of it. It was a nice change. Then we did part of the boot camp. It feels so good to workout.

    By the way, June is over (as if you didn’t already know that) and we have a winner of the Bring It On Bingo Gold Stars Extravaganza. It’s Jimmy!Jimmy had Bingo on his card but didn’t have the 15 days of exercise in to call it! We thought one of you would get Bingo before he got his days in! Anyway, congratulations to all because your gold stars look marvelous and congratulations to you Jimmy for getting Bingo…and bingo was his name oh :).

  6. I have been laughing all night and morning long!! This is sooo silly I think I need this for mom’s and Nadines’s birthday!!
    Congrats too Jimmy on Bingo!!!!! andCDale I also stayed in bed this morning, it felt great!

  7. HOLY CRAP is all I can say! I am going to be checking out that site for some needed laughs! And you guys are too much with your re-creation!

    OK, another rest day for me BUT with active rest.. walking & enjoying… not pushing myself to extremes like I do on a normal workout day!

    Have a great one!

Comments are closed.