healthy spirit / Inperspire

Sometimes You Need To Laugh At Yourself

Every once in a while you may find yourself in a situation where you just need to laugh at yourself, or if you’re like me, you find yourself in that kind of situation much of the time.

I was in one of those “situations” just last week.  Karma and I were flying to Salt Lake City to see her parents for the weekend.  We were rushing to get out of the house and running late, like we always do when going to the airport.  I thought I was looking pretty good.  I had my my nice shorts on, my super cool Sanuks, and the new t-shirt Robbie and Trisha gave me from Six Row Brewery…not to mention that I am about twenty pounds lighter, and I had a lovely lady on my arm (she’s going to love that last comment!).

From the moment we arrive at Southwest Airlines, we see a ton of people we know because, for those of you who do not know, I worked at SWA for thirteen years.  We talk to everyone, and their brother/sister, and finally make our way through security.  I see a pilot who I have not seen in a long time in the terminal, so we talk to him for a few minutes, when Karma spots two of her students (or they spot her) and introduces me.  My friend Adrian is working at the Customer Service counter and I talk to him for a while.  We make our way to the plane and talk with Kellie, the Operations Agent working the flight.  As we get on the plane, I see a Flight Attendant I know, which is typically a good thing because when you know the Flight Attendant you get free drinks.   Well, this story goes on and on…We change planes in Los Angeles, where we noticed some people were looking at us, a little strangely, but Karma said, “Just ignore them, they probably thing we look great because we are so skinny now.”  Later that evening, after arriving in SLC, we went to La Puente to eat the best Mexican food ever.  It was a long, but great day.  When Karma and I were getting ready for bed that evening, Karma said “Hey, I have never noticed that small design on the back of your shirt – that’s weird – Jimmy! do you have your shirt on backwards?”  I looked in the mirror and realized that something was indeed awry.  Then I pulled my front collar out and sure enough there was the tag that was supposed to be in the back of my shirt!  At that point, seventeen hours after I first put my shirt on, I realized I had been wearing it backwards all day.  I am sure everyone I met along the way knew it and probably thought either one of two things: (1) Should I tell Jimmy he has his shirt on backwards?; 2)  Jimmy has finally lost it.

When Karma and I realized what had happened we laughed so hard that I lost my breath and Karma started crying as she often does when she laughs too hard.  We must have laughed for 30 minutes or more.  So I guess what I am saying is, we all do things that may make us look a bit silly, maybe you trip going down the stairs, you drop a wine bottle in the grocery store (which happens more often than you would think at Trader Joe’s), or you wear shirt backwards all day, who cares life  goes on.

 

P.S.  The next morning when we told Karma’s mom about the backwards shirt she said, “Well, when we were eating at the Mexican restaurant I thought that Jimmy’s shirt looked kind of funny with the shoulder seams pulled way forward, but then I thought, well maybe that’s the way they wear them these days!

P.P.S.  I can’t resist adding something to Jimmy’s post.  It’s one of my favorite quotes ever!

“If you ask me what I came into this world to do, I will tell you: I came to live out loud.” ~Emile Zola

That quote suits Jimmy perfectly!

9 thoughts on “Sometimes You Need To Laugh At Yourself

  1. LOVED THIS POST!!!!! And you keep giving me quotes to use on my blog… again, yesterdays!! Love the quote!

    Good workout this morn… cardio, chest, core/abs!

    Still laughing about that post!

  2. Off to see the wizzard, the wonderful wizzard of–the park this morning. He runs around on a four wheeler everyday looking for someone who is not following the rules over there. Really, he is not such a bad guy, just doing his job yelling for all of us to “get your dog on a leash”. I guess we all need a little direction in our life once in a while. (Like Jimmy wearing his shirt backwards all day long) That really is funny!

    Got a lot of little things going today, so guess I had better get going. See ya– M.

    • We definitely need some direction to helps us stay sane! Can’t wait to hear about your water aerobics situation. I hope it works out for you. ~Karma

  3. Jimmy and I did our usual 5k walk/run, but we ran more than usual and it felt good. Both of us were tired from yesterday’s bike ride, and the heat, but managed to get it done. We did some more of the boot camp workout in addition to our regular stuff. My knee has been bothering me lately, so I am nursing it a bit. ~Karma

  4. Busy day in St. Louis today, we got up a bit late but still went out in the heat for a run/walk, and did push-ups, sit-ups, and squats, and my body is tired. Off for some yard work, and maybe work on my bike.

  5. Perfect quote for Jimmy!! I love the laugh at yourself post, this goes along with my new mantra, I am old and I don’t care about strange looks when ever I am doing something out of the ordinary as long as I am happy!

  6. I’m so glad that I’m not alone in this. Last Thursday, I was standing at the start line, 10 minutes before the race, next to a former 11 year old student who I also use to coach (he runs a 22 minute 5K at age 11!) and I asked him, “Is my shirt on inside out?” It just didn’t feel right. We looked at the “trendy” seams and the washing instructions on the back (thank goodness for my ponytail). And, it is my favorite race shirt so you would have thought I’d know how to put it on properly.

    Sure enough, it was, and I ran the race with it that way because I didn’t want to fuss with pins that close to the start time. As soon as I finished running, I switched my shirt around.

    It’s hot; we went for a walk today – nothing major. I’m trying to take a break between yesterday morning’s 8 miles and tomorrow’s same.

Comments are closed.