Boot Camp

This Week’s Boot Camp Workout

But first, look what my mom found…my hoppy taw!  I love it!

I was having a difficult morning yesterday and I was kevetching about this and that and that and this and I was going on a bit when I received a text message.  It said, “Lost but found…One Hoppy Taw. Yay. Love Momb”.  That’s exactly what it said and when I read that message I let out a squeal of delight and strangely enough, just like that, all my problems seemed to disappear.  Yes, something that small made the biggest difference.  I am certain Jimmy, who was driving at the time, was probably thinking that the change of mood he witnessed was a bit frightening – like going from night to day in a nanosecond – but being Jimmy – he just smiled and said, “That’s just great.”

Besides the big hoppy taw news, it’s also time for this week’s boot camp workout.  I created a card that you can download (click on the “workout card” tab at the top of the home page) to help you keep track during the week.

This Week’s Boot Camp Challenge

100 jump ropes (with or without rope)
20 single leg jump ropes (hopping on one foot 10x, then the other foot 10x) (with or without rope)
200 jumping jacks
25 square jumps (clockwise), 25 square jumps (counterclockwise)*
200 squats
20 one-leg Romanian deadlifts**
100 push ups
10 hop and pops (10 jumping jacks followed immediately by 5 pushups = 1 set)
200 crunches
100 heel touch crunches
50 bicycle crunches

*Square Jump:  Make a square with four quadrants on the floor – you can use tape – or chalk (if you are outside).  Jump through the square by hopping (with both feet) into each quadrant in a clockwise pattern (25x) and then in a counterclockwise pattern (25 times).  One time around the square (four hops) equals one repetition.

**One-leg Romainian Deadlift 

From Men's Health

“Stand with your feet a little more than shoulder width apart. Raise one foot and extend it behind you, just off the floor. Contract your glutes, brace your abs, and keep your spine naturally arched. Focusing on balance, lower yourself until your torso is parallel to the floor. Initiate the movement by pushing your hips back. Push back up to the starting position.”  Men’s Health

Okay, that’s it for the week.  Good luck.  Challenge yourself.  Be feisty.  Be fierce.  Be strong!

6 thoughts on “This Week’s Boot Camp Workout

  1. I was as happy about finding the hoppy taw as Karma felt knowing I had found it. (or just about as happy).
    Some of us (Me) cannot play Hopscotch as well as others–so I will just have to be satisified to play in my mind.

    It’s georgeous here today. Went for our walk and enjoyed seeing the mountains with the snow still on the tops. Have fun with boot camp this week. M.

  2. The card is great so much easier to keep track of what I do do during the week I will be printing one off today. Thanks so much

    • Hi Erica H.! Thanks so much and I am glad that the card helps. I leave it on my kitchen counter to remind me I still have work to do :). Hope you have a great weekend with your family and your running!

  3. I completed last week’s and am ready to go for this one. Though I think I’m in for some laughs when I do the Romainian Deadlifts. 🙂

    • Tracy – I was seriously questioning whether I should add the Romanian Deadlift 🙂 – because – when I bend over to get my hoppy taw (one one leg off course) falling over happens 85% of the time. It should be interesting. Congrats on finishing last week’s boot camp. I didn’t get a chance to write yesterday, but because I promised you that I would finish it, I did, although I couldn’t use the jump rope and I had to modify my last 40 push ups by doing them against the counter – my knee has been bothering me like crazy lately.

Comments are closed.