healthy food / healthy spirit / making healthy changes

Sunday’s Meatless Monday Recipe :)

I have to admit, when I saw this recipe in Fitness Magazine , it was love at first sight.  Black-Bean Toss – everything about it, especially the mango, sounds good to me!  We are making this salad this evening so if it isn’t as good as it looks, I will let you know.

Black-Bean Toss

Makes: 4 servings

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 14 minutes

Ingredients

4 5-inch corn tortillas
3 tablespoons canola oil
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon salt
Nonstick cooking spray
1 cup chopped red onion
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
2 large mangoes, peeled and diced
2 15-ounce cans black beans, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons lime juice
1/2 teaspoon Tabasco (or to taste)
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
8 cups mixed baby greens

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Stack the tortillas and cut them into 1/4-inch-wide strips, then toss with 1 tablespoon of the canola oil, 1/2 teaspoon of the cumin and the salt. Mist a baking sheet with cooking spray; arrange the strips in a single layer and bake 10 minutes or until crisp and lightly browned. Remove from oven and let cool.

2. Heat 1 tablespoon of the canola oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion, bell peppers, and remaining cumin; cook, stirring, 3 to 4 minutes or until vegetables begin to soften. Transfer to a large bowl; stir in remaining canola oil and the mangoes, black beans, lime juice, Tabasco, and cilantro.

3. Divide the greens among four plates and top with the bean mixture and tortilla crisps.

Nutrition facts per serving: 368 calories, 17g protein, 62g carbohydrate, 12g fat (0.9g saturated), 14g fiber

Originally published in FITNESS magazine, May 2010

If this salad is not for you – maybe you dislike mangoes or cilantro or black beans or lettuce (e.g., my mom) – there are many places to get meatless recipes for your Meatless Monday.  Here is just one: Meatless Monday Recipes.  I am sure you will find something you and your family will enjoy.

Have a happy, contemplative, and fun Sunday,

10 thoughts on “Sunday’s Meatless Monday Recipe :)

  1. Let me know if this is good and Greg and I will have this tomorow for the MM day!!going to the gym to get in some serious weights! I am burned to a crisp from boaating all day yesterday but worth it!

  2. It sure is a colorful salad!!!!

    Had a great run this morn. Perfect running weather. Did my abs/core before hand so I am ready for some fun outside today. Having cooler than normal weather here in CA & going to get warmer towards end of week so want to enjoy it while we have it!

  3. that looks good……I used to hate black beans but my sister got on this blackbean kick…….now they’re okay
    Today I went to the gym and did some lunges and squats while also doing some arms…..I found this three move core thing that i like so far because it is so simple…..I should be able to do it even if I do nothing else…..I just got done walking not only Pheobe but my sister’s boxer Nalani, she’s got an unmeasurable amount of energy. I don’t know from where…..she hardly walks any more…..she uses a four legged springy hop to get around……so this walk I hope calms her down for the day…..we’ll see…….ah classes start back tomorrow…..Have a good week all!!!!!

  4. Love this! I was actually considering making it for meatless monday as well, but I think I am saving this idea for while i’m at my parents house. I leave this saturday which means I have to be on top of my game while i`m at home or my dress will never fit. Kinda nervous but hopefully I can be strong enough to avoid all the crap they eat at home!

    For meatless monday i`ll be having burritos!

    Yesterday i ran 3 miles and today I did two workout videos and will be funning 5 miles after dinner.

    xo hope you are enjoying your weekend

  5. That salad looks great. I’m not a bean fan, though; I need my mother to make me sit at the table and eat them.
    I had a great race this morning – no expectations, took it easy, played Superhero at 15K (will post about it later) and ended finishing in 1:17 with a third place age group.
    Now, it’s time to play with the boys:)

  6. Everyone is SO busy being fit today – yay! It is so good to hear everyone’s voice. Jimmy and I will definitely give you the low down on whether the black bean toss is as good as it looks.

    Smith – It sounds like you got a lot of exercise in today between the gym and the dogs. You probably feel great.

    Jody – I heard from one of my student’s who was in this weekend that Cali is having some chilly weather, I hope it does a nice warm up for you this coming week.

    Erica – I totally understand about going to your parents house and having to avoid all the good food – same with my parents (the pitfalls from my last visit: licorice, licorice, and more licorice, potato chips, cheetohs, mini candy bars – yikes!). I know you can avoid temptations – just picture that dress!

    Gold Stars are updated. Keep that train rollin’ people :).

  7. We almost had a meatless Sunday dinner. I prepared a nice piece of salmon, had it ready to go into the smoker that Dana and Greg gave her Dad for Father’s day, and while I went out of the room to check on something our lovely BEAR dog ate the whole thing. It had a lot of onions on the top so he is liable to get sick later. I guess someone told him that Sushi is good. Lucky for us I still had another piece in the fridge. Now you know why he weighs 103 lbs.

    Haven’t had very much exercise for the past two days, but I will get back to it tomorrow.
    Happy Sunday to everyone. M.

  8. I almost forgot to post my workout for the day. I finally got back to ZUMBA :). It was soooooo good to be back. I worked up a sweat and had fun – what could be better – oh – I know – if Mary’s ankle was better and she was there too!

    M – I heard about that big dog eating your salmon. That dog is just c-r-a-z-y! You need daily exercise just to keep your blood pressure in a normal range after always having to get after that dog ;).

Comments are closed.