healthy body / healthy mind / healthy spirit

“I’ve got nasty habits. I take tea at three.” ~Mick Jagger

I think Jimmy has already confessed to you his love for tea.  I mean he LOVES it!  He drinks two or three cups in the  morning and a few more throughout the day.  One of our kitchen cabinets at home looks like we own a tea shop.  I join Jimmy in drinking tea, and I do enjoy it, however, as with many things, I am more moderate in my tea drinking than Mr. Jimmy :).

We definitely like to drink Teavana tea, which is loose leaf, and sometimes we even get fancy with it and drink our tea as part of what we call a “tea ceremony”.  Our everyday tea is Yogi Tea.  One reason we love Yogi Tea is because each tea bag comes with its own teaspiration, and, on some days, that just helps.  I thought this Yogi teaspiration was perfect for today’s post.


Tea Goddess by Nilesh Mistry.

What kind of tea do you love?  If you drink green tea, it is supposed to relieve stress, and it also helps boost your immune system, soothes the stomach, and helps regulate blood sugar.  Green tea has 5-10% of the caffeine of coffee, so it provides a small pick-me-up.  If you drink white tea (one of my personal favorites) it has a high level of antioxidants, is good for your skin, and only has 1% of the caffeine of coffee.  Black teas provide more pick-me-up than green or white tea with 20% of the caffeine of coffee, and like green tea, helps to lower cholesterol.  There are other kinds of teas: Oolong, Rooibos, Chai, Mate, and Herbal, each with its own benefits and reasons for drinking.

The pleasures and benefits of drinking tea are many, but if you have time to read a little today, here is an essay written by George Orwell in 1946, “A Nice Cup of Tea” , where he tells us exactly how tea should be enjoyed and why.  It is lovely.

I hope you have time to enjoy a cup of tea today.  Take time to sip it quietly and let your mind, body, and soul rest.

Have a Peaceful Thursday,

5 thoughts on ““I’ve got nasty habits. I take tea at three.” ~Mick Jagger

  1. YAY! I love tea. Yogi tea is so good and the inspirational saying on each bag is awesome.
    Taking sometime off for my parents arriving tomorrow( I can’t believe they are actually coming). It has been over three years since they have been here so this is an epic weekend for me.
    I will exercise later today at the gym weights!!

  2. I also love the yogi tea. When Jimmy and Darla visit, Jimmy always makes tea every morning. Someday he might turn into a old “Bag”. ha

    Dano and I went for a walk this morn. It is only 63 degrees this a.m. and perfect for us. He was able to run somewhat and did not linger so long at each tree or bush!

    Have a few things to catch up on in the yard and then it’s time to get ready for our visit to Seattle. (It had better be warm Dana).
    Have a great day all. M.

  3. This is a great post, and I do love myself some tea, I had afew cups early today, and I am enjoying one now. Now I am not sure about all of the rules that George Orwell has about drinking tea, but if you are going to do something do it right. Good tea, good beer, and good wine.
    Yesterday when I said that it was 90 at 10:00am, well today it was 94 at 10:00am, today is a rest day for me, I have InPerspire work to do now, and in the afternoon a little house work.
    All of you should try and find some time to relax with a cup of tea at some point during your day.

  4. I hate to admit but I don’t like tea. I have tried different types & flavors & just don’t like it…. I don’t eat or drink things I don’t like even for the benefits. I figure I will find something else I like that will help me too! 🙂

    As for the workout.. hot as the hooties here & in the gym but I still had a good cardio session & awesome weights!

  5. you guys beat me with tomorrow’s post….or i guess today’s …..i dunno it’s still my thursdaya nd this morning Pheobe and i got in our walk and my intentions were to go to the gym tonight but I babysat to make some money and it is too late now I don’t want to mess up my sleep again for school………

    I think i am going to make up for it tomorrow by running that trail my boyfriend showed me back in May……I need a partner though because I get scared in woodsy areas all alone……hmmmm….goodnight! see you tomorrw!!!!

Comments are closed.