Biggest Loser / Bob Harper / healthy spirit / Meatless Monday

Question: What is better than Bob Harper?

Answer: Bob Harper as the spokesperson for this year’s Farm Animal Sanctuary Walk!

Yes, one of America’s favorite trainers is taking the lead in this year’s Walk for Farm Animals.  This annual walk raises money for life saving rescues of abused farm animals and raises awareness about the cruel and deplorable conditions endured by factory farmed animals.  Jimmy and I adopted June (InPerspire’s mascot) and  my Mom, Dad, and Jimmy adopted Melvin, the goat, for me for my birthday as a way to help two of the rescued Farm Sanctuary animals. 

It seems that Bob Harper, a vegetarian, and one who is in VERY good shape, is passionate about keeping both people and animals healthy.

“Getting and staying physically fit is a lot easier when you have a powerful motivation, and I can’t think of a better reason to get moving this fall than to raise vital funds and awareness for farm animals,” said Harper.

“When I think about the billions of sensitive, intelligent beings who are confined and mistreated on factory farms to produce foods linked with obesity, heart disease, cancer, and stroke — that is all the motivation I need to make healthier, more conscientious choices. I am honored to be the national spokesperson for Farm Sanctuary’s 2010 Walk for Farm Animals.”

Jimmy and I have registered for the October 2nd walk in St. Louis because, as the Farm Santuary motto states, “A Compassionate World Begins With You”.  Here is a statement by Gene Bauer, president and co-founder of Farm Sanctuary, about why Farm Sanctuary is so important:

“Animals raised for food in the U.S. spend their entire lives in filth and darkness, kept in such severe confinement they cannot turn around, lie down or extend their limbs,” said Gene Baur, president and co-founder of Farm Sanctuary. “No one likes cruelty and when people learn about the abusive conditions inside factory farms, they are appalled and a growing number are getting active to raise awareness about these intolerable cruelties and put an end to the unnecessary suffering. For nearly 25 years, Farm Sanctuary’s Walk for Farm Animals has provided a forum for people from all walks of life to spread a powerful message of compassion for farm animals in their own cities and hometowns. The exponential growth of the Walks is a very positive sign. This year, we are thrilled to have Bob Harper’s support as our national spokesperson for the 2010 Walk for Farm Animals. Bob is as passionate about animal protection as he is about health and fitness, and with his support, the biggest winners this year will be farm animals.”

Going meatless each Monday is definitely a step in the right direction, but if you would like to also support factory farmed animals by being a part of the 2010 Walk for Farm Animals that would be two, three, four steps in the right direction.

By the way, Erica @ Fashion Meets Food, reviewed Bob Harper’s newest set of dvds called the Inside Out Method and this is what she had to say:

“With his brand new four-disc DVD series called Inside Out Method, Bob is no longer the nice one! 30 Day Shred… cake walk. Inside Out Method Cardio Conditioning with Bob is the MOST INTENSE workout I have ever done from a DVD!”. 

Coming from Erica, this is serious :).  I have not tried the dvds yet, but I plan to because who would pass up a butt kicking workout from a guy who also loves animals?  Definitely not me.

Have a peaceful and compassionate Monday. It’s a new day, a new week, and a new chance at being the best you possible.

P.S.  Here is the result of our Audrey Hepburn Spinach Lasagna:

9 thoughts on “Question: What is better than Bob Harper?

    • I agree 100%, Jody. Bob is one good looking vegtarian :). It’s nice that you start your Mondays off with all weights – it’s a good start to your week.

  1. I am excited about the walk for Farm Animals, this is a great cause, also fall in St. Louis is one of the best times of the year.
    For exercise today, I got up late because I went to bed late, that needs to stop. Busy morning and at 12:00 I am off to TJ’s for about 7 hours, but when we get home the plan is to go out for a run at about 7:30pm.
    I hope all of you have a great day.

  2. I like the idea of the walk for animals. I will never become a vegetarian but I think it is good for all of us to cut back on our consumption.Great post. Greg and I are going to the gym in about 1 hour, we need to workout the stress from our morning jobs.

  3. Great post, Karma…and picture of Bob! I think he is great!

    Today is a rest day for me. Tomorrow morning I meet with my trainer for a new set of resistance exercises.

    My husband and I are going meatless tonight! He went to the grocery store since I spent the day on my sculpture. Looking forward to our mushroom ravioli with pesto sauce!

    Happy Monday! 🙂

  4. Hey Miss Mary – Mushroom ravioli with pesto sauce makes me hungry! If you would like to share the recipe, let me know.

    Are you working on your butterfly sculpture?

  5. Jimmy is picking me up from work in about 20 minutes and then we plan to go for a long walk. Typically, I don’t exercise after about 11 am, because after that I find all manner of reasons why it won’t work for me, but tonite we are going to give it a try. We’ll let you know what happens.

    I was just thinking how nice it is that everyone is so open minded and also that many of us are going meatless together on Monday nights. So even though we aren’t actually eating together we are doing something with a purpose – together – that’s just nice. Remember that song United we stand, divided we fall? I used to love that song from the 70’s. Anyway, it just popped into my head and I do agree it’s true.

    “And if our backs should ever be against the wall..”, yes, now that song is stuck in my head!

  6. Great post! I am Lisa, the St. Louis Walk for Farm Animals coordinator, and I wanted to drop by to tell you how glad I am that you and your husband will be joining us for the walk! It’s going to be a fun time. Thanks for promoting it on your blog, and for being a voice for animals! 🙂

    • Hi Lisa! We are so excited to do the walk! I am going to put a permanent link to the walk on our blog and we can definitely help you get the word out. Let us know if you need anything. Cheers! ~Karma and Jimmy

Comments are closed.