healthy mind

what could be better than pondering & wandering?


When Banzan was walking through a market he overheard a conversation between a butcher and his customer.

“Give me the best piece of meat you have,” said the customer.

“Everything in my shop is the best,” replied the butcher. “You cannot find here any piece of meat that is not the best.”

At these words Banzan became enlightened.

 

In May I wrote a post called “a koan and a cup of tea” where I revealed that I like to pretend that I like koans, but I actually often resist the lessons they try to teach me, because, quite simply, koans are HARD.  Well, after the WordPress blog theme debacle of yesterday, I thought I should revist my koan nature :).     

Like the koan from my earlier post, A Cup of Tea, today’s koan, Everything is Best, gives the mind a chance to open and grow by posing a question that is not rational and does not have a linear type answer (the ones we are so used to giving when asked a question).  Koans help us to to resist answering questions out of habit, according to what we believe is our reality, they help us to think around situations and reframe them, just what I need.

Let your mind ponder and wander freely and often!

5 thoughts on “what could be better than pondering & wandering?

  1. Now you have me thinking right before I need my after gym sleep! I better not have thinking dreams.. I like easy going dreams! 😉

    Great workout & great weights! I even did good cardio!

  2. I love ideas that make you think on different angles.
    Took our friend out this morning and could only go about 3/4 of the way. Between foot hurting and the socc. games going on at the park that is about as far as we could go. It will get better.
    Have a great day everyone. M.

    • You are such a good sport about all these crazy posts. I am glad you liked this one. It is a tricky one. I don’t think I have wrapped my mind around it yet.

      We have to get your foot better!

  3. Jimmy and I a busy day and it ended with me taking a vacation day to get it all done, but before things got too out of hand, schedule wise, we walked/ran our 5k and did some boot camp plus crunches.

    One of the nice things I did today was go to the Wildflower with Robbie, our son, to choose the food for the reception. That was just nice :).

Comments are closed.