making healthy changes / Meatless Monday

Sunday’s Meatless Monday Recipe

Yummy Meatless Monday Recipe

 We do love pasta!  Here is a nice and light “summery” pasta for your delight – and because there’s no meat it makes the animals happy too :).  Here’s to Meatless Mondays!

End of Summer Pasta
Angel hair whole wheat pasta
1/4 c. olive oil
2 Tbsp. butter
1/4 c. pine nuts
2 orange peppers (diced)
1 big jar of artichoke hearts (chopped into bite size pieces)
1 Tbsp. minced garlic (from jar)
Fresh basil (~1/4 cup of leaves)
crushed black pepper, garlic salt, and red pepper flakes to taste
parmesan cheese (grated)

Cook noodles according to the package directions.  In a large skillet, heat butter and olive oil (medium heat); add garlic and bell peppers and saute for 3 minutes; add pine nuts and artichoke hearts and continue to saute for 3 more minutes; add black pepper, garlic salt and red pepper flakes to taste; add basil leaves.  Add the pasta to the skillet mixture and combine.  Serve with grated parmesan cheese.

NB:  We thought spinach would be a great addition to this dish, but we haven’t tried it yet.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Sunday’s Meatless Monday Recipe

  1. Even though I am not a pasta fan, that looks really yum!

    Had a great run this morn & clear as a bell.. nice sunrise although we are finally getting that heat we avoided all summer.. the beach people love it though! 🙂 Course got some abs/core in there too.

    Have a great day!

    • Jody , you are sooo lucky for such a beautiful day, we are raining and dreary in Seattle. Tomorrow is suppose to be about 80 here..I am crossing my fingers..Enjoy youir Sunday.

  2. That looks amazing!! I love noodles…..probably too much:) Agh I have been so sick the last two weeks. I went to the dr. and apparently it is just bronchitis. I’ve been so tired and lazy but I’ve still been making pretty good choices. Except I made cookies yesterday….eeeep.

    I wanted to thank you guys for your support in my Alzheimer’s walk….It’s coming up so soon…..I’d bettter get to work on it!!!!

    • Smith hang in there, so many patients at my work have bronchitis and some wierd summer flu. a cookie now and then never hurts..happy Sunday

  3. This sounds delicious! reg and I have the workout flu from yesterday. We are so sore and tired but this is what we get when life gets in the way of working out!!

  4. Is it the workout flu or the Seattle Seahawk flu?

    We ended up going for a 4.6 mile walk around our “hood” and then did boot camp. We would have liked to do more, but we have a lot to do around the house.

  5. What she said, nice walk and boot camp. We stayed up until 3:30am, we watched Father of the Bride, and Father of the Bride 2. We had to watch the movie so that we know how to act at Robbie and Trisha’s wedding.

  6. That looks great. I think I’ll try it – but without the pinenuts.

    I’m glad someone has sunshine. We’ve had overcast and rainy weather all weekend. Fortunately, it held off for yesterday’s race but it started in the afternoon and hasn’t stopped. I’m trying to find a break to get out for my long run today. It may end up being the bike instead.

Comments are closed.