healthy spirit / Meatless Monday

So a nice thing happened to me Tuesday.  After the wedding weekend we were tired.  I mean T-I-R-E-D.  I had a long day at school, which ended with a 2 hour class on the Sociology of Education, which I love, but by the time I arrived at class I felt like I had been hit by a sledge hammer.  I was hungry, I had a headache, I had accidentally read the wrong reading for class (I was not a happy camper), and I was hungry (it bears repeating).  I was sitting in my chair looking rather pathetic when one of my students came in and said, “Here, I brought you something, because I know you don’t have time to eat before class.” 

What she brought me was a little Tupperware full of the most delicious cousous I have ever had!  It may have been my hunger levels that made it taste so good, but I don’t think so, I think this small, incredibly kind gesture made the couscous taste like it had been prepared by Paul Prudhomme himself.  Everything seemed a little better after that.  So, even though it’s Thursday, and not really a “recipe post day”, I thought I would share this recipe with you.

My student adapted her recipe from one found in RealSimple Magazine.

Couscous Salad with Grapes and Feta

Image from Simple Magazine

Combine a 1/2 cup couscous with a 1/2 cup hot water in a bowl.  Cover the bowl and let sit for 10 minutes.  Fluff with a fork, and fold in a 1/2 cup of chopped, toasted walnuts, 1/2 cup crumbled Feta (2 ounces), 1/2 cup halved red seedless grapes (I don’t know why you have to have seedless, I don’t think it matters), 1/4 cup chopped parsley, 1/2 tsp Kosher salt, and 1/4 tsp black pepper.  Now this is where my student’s recipe differs from Simple’s, my student used balsamic vinegar, just a bit drizzled in to give it moisture, rather than the 3 Tbsp. Olive Oil and 2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice called for in the original recipe.

I think the recipe could be adapted in many different ways, but as is, it is light, fresh, and healthy.

Thanks, Monica!  X’s and O’s!

Enjoy your Thursday,

5 thoughts on “

  1. The good thing is I exercised today, the bad thing is it was the first time in 6 days, but I think with all of the stress, running around, and just being crazy the past six days, I did not gain any weight. Now I am off to the PO and the market, I am making the salad for lunch.

  2. What a thoughtful classmate! Always great to have one of those “reinforce my faith in human nature” moments!

    Sounds like a great vegetarian recipe, full of good healthy ingredients! And the subsititution of balsamic vinegar for the lemon juice sounds great! Balsamic imparts such a good flavor. I might leave some of the olive oil in it though, because I love olive oil and it goes well with balsamic vinegar,

    Busy week for me, on my midweek early morning runs, I ran 8 Tuesday, 10 Wednesday, 8 again this morning, instead of my usual 5 or 6 miles. I struggled with one of my weekend long runs, so I decided I need to challenge myself more and get back into semi-marathon condition. On a roll with the yoga, have practiced 20 days in a row!

    Have a great Thursday!

  3. I guess there is more nice people in this world than we know. How very nice, and it does look good.

    We did the yard work today and we will go over to Gr.’s this p.m. and do her lawn work. Going to the Dr.’s tomorrow to see if my foot is better and then I will be able to get back to walking again. Have a great day all
    M.

  4. What a wonderful surprise for you & a people can do nice things day! Love it!!!!! Recipe looks yum too & yes, adaptable!

    Had a good finish with my cardio, leggies/buns & back.. core/ab too!

  5. This is an awesome suprise! I was probably still on the plane. I will catch up with everyone on the next post. Sad to be gone from Darla and Jimmy’s house but happy to be home. I miss everyone!!

Comments are closed.