fitness intensity / getting fit / Girl Get Strong

My Knees Are Tomboys

My knees are tomboys. They get bruised and cut every time I play soccer. I’m proud of them and wear my dresses short. My mother worries I will never marry with knees like these. But I know there’s someone out there who will say to me: I love you and I love your knees. I want the four of us to grow old together.  ~Nike

Although I don’t play soccer, my knees are a record of how much fun I have had over the years.  Each scar reminds me of just how crazy (and sometimes clumsy) I am!

I never really thought much about my knees until last year when I squatted down to take a picture and I knew immediately something wasn’t right.  I am not sure what caused my knees to suddenly go south, but I believe it was a combination of being too heavy for my frame, this was pre-365 Day Odyssey, and letting my muscles become weak (in the past my legs have never, ever been called weak) by not rigorously pursuing exercise.  It has taken awhile for my knees to recover (it’s like they have been in rehab with Amy Winehouse) and I am happy to say they feel pretty good now, although I have steadfastly avoided squatting down and I know that’s not a good thing.  I am going to remedy that situation by continuing with my squats, running, dancing, etc., so I can bend at will and my knees can be Tomboys again.

Make your Thursday a happy one by taking care of yourself (in whatever way that means for you) and by being a positive force in the world,

5 thoughts on “My Knees Are Tomboys

  1. Ran/walked our 5k. I felt a little sick when I was pushing myself, I am not sure what that’s about. Afterwards – jacks, jump rope, push ups, sit ups, and squats. Gotta’ keep my knees and body moving.

  2. I like this post, I say get out and run, dance, ride, play any sport, and you come with a cut, good for you. Today my back is still sore, but I did go for a run, and finished with Jump rope, Jumping Jacks, squats, crunches, and push ups, because I am working through the pain, when I get home from TJ’s today I may be singing a different song.
    Have a great day.

  3. I think my knees have fallen to my feet…that’s a long
    way up to get back into shape. Loved this post and yes you have had some things happen with your knees Karma.

    We cut our lawns this morning and also went for a walk with the dog. Still can’t go beyond the pavement on the school grounds but it is a start. My foot will probably get better about the time the snow flys, then I won’t be able to tell if they are hurt or not because they will be frozen.

    We are off shopping again so everyone enjoy your day.
    M.

  4. Great post, Karma!
    Rest day for me…home sick with a respiratory infection…but have an antibiotic and hope to be feeling better by the weekend. The weather is supposed to be better by then, too. So I am taking care of myself as you encouraged, Karma. 🙂

  5. Cool post! My knees are actually showing age.. sucks!!! I hear they do lipo for knees now.. can’t afford it! Weight training only does so much with age.. dang!
    😉

    Finished off the week goos – cardio, core, all parts of the leg/booty & back!

Comments are closed.