healthy food / Joes & Sandwiches / Meatless Monday

Sloppy Moes/Don’t Have a Cow

It’s Monday – time to go Meatless :).  I know many of you have taken the Meatless Monday pledge and are doing your part on Mondays, and maybe a few other days a week, to take the meat out of your diet.  If you haven’t yet tried going meatless one day a week, now is the perfect time to start.  Why?

1)  We have a wonderful “Sloppy Moes” recipe, passed on to us by Lisa Rimmert, this year’s Farm Sanctuary Walk coordinator, via the Compassion over Killing site, for you to try. 

The recipe calls for Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP), which sounds kind of weird, but tastes perfectly good and is inexpensive (~$3/bag).  TVP can be purchased at Whole Foods or Dierbergs or major grocery stores that sell Bob’s Red Mill products (Whole Foods has it in bulk).  It comes in a bag: Bob’s Red Mill TVP and is very high in protein. We love Sloppy Joes so this was a great recipe for us to try – it made us feel a little adventurous (trying the TVP) and I think it is good to try on new things.

Sloppy Moes

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 medium green peppers, diced
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups boiling water
  • 2 1/2 cups tomato purée (we replaced this with a 24 ounce jar of “Progresso Traditional Italian Sauce” and it was much better tasting than when we used the tomato purée)
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons mustard
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups dry textured vegetable protein (TVP)
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • vegan buns or bread

Sauté the onion and green peppers in the olive oil in a large skillet until soft and lightly browned, about 12 minutes. Add all the remaining ingredients except the bread and simmer over low heat for 20 minutes, stirring often. Serve warm in burger buns or over bread.  *Note: Lisa uses pasta sauce (staying away from the chunkier brands) instead of the tomato sauce called for in the recipe.  I really liked the Sloppy Joes Lisa made for us for the Farm Sanctuary Walk, but when Jimmy made the recipe he originally used the tomato purée; the Sloppy Joes were good this way, but we felt like they needed a little “zip” so we added a few drops of green Tabasco to ours.   Jimmy remade the Sloppy Joes using the pasta sauce, as noted in the recipe above, and they were really, really, really good.

So, continuing on with why it’s a good time to start going meatless on Mondays…

2)  It’s Vegetarian Awareness Month and in honor of that the World Vegetarian Day organization is entering people who take the pledge to go vegetarian, one day, one week, or one month into a drawing.  Take the pledge and get entered in the drawing.

3)  Whether you go meatless for one day a week or every day of the year, we should all be thinking seriously about eating good, clean foods.  FitSugar posted some Insider Tips for Saving Big at Whole Foods.  Check it out for ways to save and be sure to follow the link they posted to the Whole Deal Value Guide that highlights deals, contains coupons, budget-friendly recipes under $4, and money-saving tips. 

4)  By going meatless, you can make a cow, chicken, sheep, pig, fish, and all the animals of the world happy.  You can also help save the planet one Monday at a time!

Have a beautiful Meatless Monday!

17 thoughts on “Sloppy Moes/Don’t Have a Cow

  1. After watching Dr. Oz & my post today, even better reason to go meatless a day or two, especially if you can’t afford to buy organic!

    That recipe sounds great & reading alot about TVP on some other blogs too!

    Good ole all weight workout this morn!

  2. Hello! I have returned. ha. After the wedding I COMPLETELY feel off the health wagon. I haven’t really eaten that BAD… I mean I could definitely be eating better. However workouts have NOT existed which is never good. Apparently my body got so use to the workouts that it depended on them to maintain my weight/lose a tiny bit. Well without the workouts I have gained more weight than I care to mention. Which in turn has made me depressed and cranky. Today is a new day and I need to get BACK on track. I am not going to workout like crazy like I did before. 30 days in a row 3-5 hours a day. I will just try to make it healthy and livable. I am still doing meatless monday and loving it. That recipe sounds amazing and will most definitely have to give it a try.

    xo

    • I was just thinking about you and wondering how everything was going..Glad you are back 🙂 We all fall off the wagon now and then but this is why we workout in the first place..to live our lives .

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed the sloppy joes! I am a wuss, so no Tabasco for me. 🙂

    Also, I took the elevator this morning and my towel is glaring at me in disgust. lol.

  4. Hello All,
    The Sloppy Joe’s taste great, today we are going to try them with the pasta sauce, I will report back on how they turned out. I had to buy more TVP because it seems that one of our cats has decided that he likes TVP, so when we came home yesterday we found TVP all over the kitchen.
    Today is a busy day, no exercise, we had a great weekend with much fun and exercise, so today I need to catch up on work.

  5. I will have to give the recipie a try. I love sloppy joes so it may be a little hard to convience me that without meat they are as good…but will try.

    Went for a small walk at the school yesterday and again today. The boot on my foot helps alot. Hopefully in three more weeks I will be back to normal. (well, maybe there is no normal for me. ha)

    Good Monday to everyone. Momb

  6. Happy Meatless Monday to you too, Mary, and to everyone else. I am just now getting a chance to read through all the comments. What a lovely community we have.

    Jody is a 100% right about the literal mess that our chicken (farm factory) industry is in right now (and really has been for many years). Check out her post and see what Dr. Oz has to say about what you are eating and why we are becoming resistant to antibiotics.

    Besides the fact that we are eating food that is filled with things like arsenic, the conditions underwhich the chickens (and other animals) are being bred to feed us are deplorable. In fact, deplorable isn’t even close to describing what happens in factory farms. The reason no one wants to watch films like “Food, Inc.” or read books like “Eating Animals” is because it is just too hard to watch what goes on in the quest to supply us with meat. If we watch, then we will need to change. I challenge everyone to get informed.

    Yesterday, we had a good workout, but today is a day off. I am looking forward to tomorrow and the “high” that we feel after we exercise now. It’s amazing.

    Jimmy’s Sloppy Joes with the pasta sauce were awesome tonite. Thanks for cooking such a nice and healthy meal for me, Jimmy.

    • Wow, Dana!
      What are you doing to knock out 800 calories in 55 minutes?!?!
      I want to know so I can try it! 🙂

  7. Karma, in recent years, I had drastically reduced meat consumption for health reasons, and as I thought more about environmental impact and animal treatment issues, I just reached a point where I could no longer reconcile continued meat eating with my views. I’ve been vegetarian for almost a year now, and I feel great!

    I’ve seen several interesting meatless sloppy joe recipes lately. I’ll have to give this one a try!

    BTW, I posted a follow-up to the “Gayatri Yantra.”

    Have a great week!

Comments are closed.