Biggest Loser / Biggest Loser contestants / Bob Harper / cupcakes / Sweets

Biggest Lower Cupcakes/Bob’s World

On last night’s episode of the Biggest Loser, Bob invited the contestants who had fallen below the yellow line  to his house for dinner.  When they arrived at his door, Bob greeted his guests with, “Welcome to Bob’s World.”  I was so envious!  I wanted to go to Bob’s World :).

Of course, everyone wanted to see what was inside Bob’s refrigerator.  Not surprisingly the fridge was lean and spare.  Bob explained this is because he only buys food with a very short shelf-life (less than 2 weeks), which he advised all the BL contestants to do in order to eat healthy foods. 

 
Bob had a friend prepare a vegan dinner for his guests and the food looked exquisite.  I am trying to find the recipes online, but until I do, Curtis Stone showed the BL contestants how to make reduced fat cupcakes:
Cupcakes

Makes about 14 cupcakes

Ingredients
5 organic egg whites
Pinch of salt
3 tablespoons honey
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder

For the frosting
1 cup nonfat cream cheese
1/2 ripe banana

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 325F.
  • Place the egg whites in a large bowl and using a handheld mixer whip the whites on medium speed for 3 to 4 minutes or until the whites begin to lighten up and hold their shape.
  • Increase speed to high and whip in the salt and honey until the whites hold a soft peak, then add the vanilla extract.
  • Fold in the yogurt.
  • In a separate medium mixing bowl combine the flour and baking powder and mix well.
  • Sift the dry ingredients into the egg whites a little at a time, gently folding them in with a rubber spatula.
  • Once fully incorporated, scoop the batter into cupcake tins lined with cupcake papers.
  • Bake the cupcakes for 15 to 20 minutes or until they have colored and gently spring back when pushed with a finger.
  • Remove from the oven and cool the cupcakes at room temp.
  • Mix the cream cheese and the banana in a medium mixing bowl until well incorporated, leaving small chunks of banana throughout the frosting.
  • Once cool, spread a little of the banana frosting over the cupcakes and serve.

Nutrition Facts:
Calories 60
Total Fat 0g
Sat Fat g 0g
Cholesterol 5mg
Sodium 190mg
Total Carb 10g
Dietary Fiber 1g
Sugar 4g
Protein 5g

Now, after eating those cupcakes you are going to need something to help you burn those calories.  Check out this video from My Trainer Bob.
   

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

 

 

Have a Fantastic Wednesday!

8 thoughts on “Biggest Lower Cupcakes/Bob’s World

  1. I will watch the video after some sleep but I will admit I had trouble getting past that yummy pic of Bob to read your post! 😉 I did not see all of BL so will try to watch the rest today.

    Great workout.. survived cardio & awesome weights!

    • Yeah, I know, Jody, I actually looked for a more sedate picture of BH, but none was to be found :). As they say in Kenya, “Lala salama” (sleep peacefully).

  2. The Biggest Loser was great, and the food looked great, we need to find it. Today is a nice Fall day in St. Louis, my plan for the day is, after I catch up on my work, get out and do some exercise, and clean up the yard.

    Have a great day.

  3. Jimmy is a little sick right now, even though he is pretending that he is not. If he feels better tomorrow then we will be out for a morning walk/run and some boot camp. Too much work today made it impossible for me to get my workout in, but maybe after class this evening I can get home and do some nice stretching and some yoga, like Vern suggested. That just sounds so nice :).

  4. I agree…wish I could have gone to Bob’s house! I was jealous, too!

    Karma, I agree with Jody that was a great choice of pictures to post of Bob! 🙂

    I absolutely LOVE the dumbbell snatch! I learned this just about 6 weeks ago and felt so strong and powerful doing it!!

    Still no exercise for me…just ANOTHER doctor visit. She advised me not to work the rest of the week. And NO exercise until I can take a deep breath without coughing.

    But before I could even ask, she told me that when I am well she will give me the pneumonia shot. 🙂

    Happy Wednesday!

    • Now you follow your doctor’s orders, Mary! No work – sounds pretty good – but no exercise – that is going to be difficult, but just think of it as a way to speed up your recovery time.

      I was wondering if anyone had seen that dumbbell snatch before. I tried it without weights to make sure that it wouldn’t hurt my back. Tomorrow I will try with 5lb weights and I will see if I love it like you do :).

      • Try it in front of a mirror at the gym…that is especially fun to see how powerful you look, too! 🙂 If it helps, my trainer has me put the hand without the weight on my hip. I think that looks even cooler! 🙂

Comments are closed.