Meatless Monday / Soups

White Bean & Spinach Soup/”I’m Strong to the Finish ‘Cause I Eat My Spinach…”

“I’m Popeye the Sailor Man!”


It’s Meatless Monday!  What better example of extraordinary strength, made possible by eating your veggies, than Popeye?!  Especially if you compare the physique and abilities of the veggie-loving Popeye to his burger obsessed friend, Wimpy :).

I know who I would rather look like – and whose cholesterol levels I would prefer!  In honor of Popeye, and that wonderful vegetable called spinach, here is a delicioius White Bean and Spinach Soup (realsimple.com).  With spinach, orzo, white beans, and just a hint of rosemary (topped with Parmesan) this is the perfect Meatless Monday meal.

2 T. olive oil
1 T. crushed garlic (from the jar)
3 stalks of celery (sliced)
1 large onion (chopped)
Black pepper to taste
2 15.5 oz. cans Cannellini Beans, rinsed
1 C. Orzo
16-20 oz spinach (we use a family sized bag of baby spinach)
8 cups of vegetable broth
2 T. chopped fresh rosemary
Parmesan (shaved to taste)

Heat oil in large pot over medium high heat.  Add garlic, celery, onion, pepper; cook stirring occasionally until tender (~ 4-6 minutes).  Add beans, pasta, rosemary, vegetable broth.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat.  Add spinach.  Simmer until pasta and spinach are tender (~4-5 minutes).  Serve with shaved Parmesan on top and with a nice artisan bread :).

Eat your spinach and get strong, like Popeye!

3 thoughts on “White Bean & Spinach Soup/”I’m Strong to the Finish ‘Cause I Eat My Spinach…”

  1. This soup is great, but we left out the big T of crushed garlic from the jar. Today is one crazy busy day, so this is an off day of exercise for me today, but that is okay because we have exercised for the past four days.

    • I put the G(arlic) back in the recipe, Jimmy :).

      Glad you had a great all weight day, Jody!

      Today is a day off for me. Saturday we ran/walked and did our pushup challenge and Sunday we walked our 5k (we were both exhausted). Today I lectured about radiocarbon dating and other absolute dating methods. I am tried, but looking forward to working out tomorrow!

Comments are closed.