Meatless Monday / Meatless Monday recipe / Sweets

Pumpkin Muffins/A Sweet Meatless Monday Recipe

Photo of GrapesPumpkins out in full force, a blanket of red and yellow leaves on my lawn, and acorns raining down on our heads, it can only mean one thing…it’s pumpkin muffin time!  Oh yeah, and it’s also fall!

So…I have this recipe for pumpkin muffins that is absolutely to die for, but before I give you the recipe, let me first tell you that these muffins are not in any way, shape, or form good for those who are trying to lose weight, unless you can eat just one :).  With that disclaimer out of the way:

Pumpkin Muffins
3 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup shortening
1 16-oz can pumpkin
3 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1 ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat over to 350 degrees.
Cream sugar and shortening. Add eggs and pumpkin and combine thoroughly.
Stir in the dry ingredients. Add vanilla and stir.

Bake 20 minutes or more.

Glaze:
½ c. brown sugar
2 Tbsp. melted butter, cooled
1 cup powdered sugar
1 Tbsp (or more) mild

Cream brown sugar and butter. Add the powdered sugar and milk and beat until smooth. Spread on warm muffins.

And for more pumpkiny goodness…

Our girl, Erica, over at Fashion Meets Food, posted a twist on the pumpkin cookie: Pumpkin Whoopie Pies.  They look SO good.  I see Whoopie Pies in my future!

For pumpkin things that are non-fattening, check out these sites:
Pumpkin Carving Online lets you carve a virtual pumpkin (it is a lot of fun and you can practice your pumpkin design this way).  
Pumpkin Luminaries over at Tatum Tales provides pictures and instructions for making pumpkin luminaries (such a nice, simple, fun, and beautiful idea).

Have a Sweeeeet Sunday!

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Muffins/A Sweet Meatless Monday Recipe

  1. Yum! I love pumpkin muffins. I have been doing so good with meatless Monday’s! I am really considering being a vegetarian. When I moved from Michigan to Pennsylvania I learned that Michigan has meat laws which allowed me to eat the meat there because there was no funny business about it. In PA the meat is sick…beyond gross and I know why so many people are vegetarians. There are no meat laws so the only meat I eat is chicken from Sam’s Club (tyson frozen chicken breast) it’s the only meat I can trust. So currently while in PA I only ever eat chicken… I am thinking transitioning to meatless all the time will be easy. Hope you all are having a fabulous weekend!!!! My grandpa gave me a diabetic version of the whoopie pies that I made, and they were actually really good. I`ll have to post it since they`re hardly any calories at all.

    xo

    • Erica, I tried to be vegetarian for a bit but with my carnivore husband it was not for me. I know what you are talking about with how disgusting some meat can be. Greg and I try for two days a week with no meat but when we do eat it we always purchase from Whole Foods or Costco. Have a happy Sunday!!

  2. I just got back from the gym..Yepp that means I was there by 7:15 AM this morning ( this was a true miracle). I started with the first day of my 100 push-ups challenge,then did the new endless rope machine( this machine may change my life),shoulders,bi-ceps then finished with a 20 min cardio blast!! I feel great!Now, as for the muffins, no way am I making these because I would eat the whole bunch, I know how delicious they are.

  3. Love that pumpkin carving thing.. have to share that!!!

    If your readers want a pumpkin choc chip scone that is pretty healthy, check out my Friday post & I linked to Joanna’s recipe. She has great recipes on her site for those looking for healthier ones & lots with more protein if you need that!

    Great run this morn.. beautiful weather… core/abs done. Time for some R&R! 🙂

  4. Everyone is up and at it early this morning! I love hearing from you all. Jimmy told me on our walk this morning that at Trader Joe’s he is meeting more and more people in their 50s, 60s, and 70s who are going vegetarian because of the problems with the meat (and I secretly hope it is also because they feel bad about how the animals are treated in the farm factory process). I think we have real movement going, which you know, I love.

    I would love to see the no calorie version of the whoopie pies, Erica, because, as Dana mentioned with the pumpkin muffins, I can never eat just one of anything. Jody is right about those pumpkin chocolate chip scones and protein bars, much healthier than the muffins and they look fabulous.

    Jimmy and I will make the muffins this week and then I will take the entire batch, minus the two we eat, to Robbie and Tricia and my work.

    We did our 5k run/walk (notice the run is now in front of the walk – because I am running more and more of it) backwards, not walking backwards, but the opposite way. It made for a good change. Afterwards, 50 jacks and lots of abs and started the 100 pushup challenge. This time I am doing regular pushups, Level 2. I am so excited about this.

    Dana, I can’t wait to try out the endless rope machine. I was going to call you at 7:30 your time this morning, but thought you might not be awake, but you were already in the gym! Booyah!

  5. This is a great Sunday, had a good run today, mixed with push ups, jumping jacks, squats, and crunches, thats how we do it. Watching the Rams game and enjoying our day.

  6. Wish our gym had the endless rope machine!!!
    Is that what they show on the Biggest Loser sometimes with Jillian? Want to hear more about it.

    On a totally different topic…
    Jimmy,
    The next time you and Karma go to the Big Island go to the Green Sand Beach on the South end. I finally looked up the name for the lava that is green…it is olivine!

    Happy weekend, all! 🙂

  7. Oh, it’s that time of year. I also posted a recipe for Pumpkin muffins last week:) Yours look yummy too!

    I’m definitely feeling ready for the half on the 7th. A part of me is starting to wish that I had stuck with the last few weeks of training, but there is so much going on at work and with the family that the half is really the wisest thing for me personally right now. I’m really excited about it and need to bottle that energy:)

    Have a great day!

Comments are closed.