Meatless Monday

It’s Meatless Monday

…which means it’s your day to make a positive change in the world, your health, and the life of animalsJust think, one day a week you have the power to make all this happen :).

Sometimes when people ask me why I am vegetarian, and I actually begin to tell them it’s for philosophical reasons, they tell me, “No, don’t tell me more, I don’t want you to spoil my breakfast/lunch/dinner.”  I understand that sentiment.  The realities of factory farming are so horrible no one wants to think or know about them.  Why?  Because (I believe) if people really knew what happened to factory farmed animals they would stop eating meat immediately; they would be forced to act because no one truly believes cruelty is okay. 

I am being provocative today because I do want people to think and act and take a stand against animal cruelty, as well as poisoned meat (see Dr. Oz’s latest video about “What’s in Our Nation’s Chicken”), and the environmental problems factory farming is causing us. 

For those of you already choosing to go meatless (no meat for three meals) on Mondays, thank you.  For those of you who are still working on it, keep trying, you will get there.  And for those who are ready to take the next step to a compassionate, cruelty free life, don’t wait.  Do it now.  The world will thank you, your body will thank you, your family will thank you, and the animals will thank you.  I will thank you too, but you probably already know that :).

For those interested in how the word “organic”, “cage-free”, “free-range”, etc., have been co-opted and corrupted by the agri-business industry, here is a short video explaining what it all means.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Make a difference today!  Go Meatless!

5 thoughts on “It’s Meatless Monday

  1. I have been going meatless for about 22 years, and I feel great about it. We do eat cheese, eggs, and Darla drinks milk, but we are working on cutting that out, the cheese is going to be the hard one. We started buying our eggs from a local farm, and you should see the difference. Hope that all of you have a great meatless day, and if you want some good meatless things to eat, let me know, and I will send them your way.

  2. We started raising chickens last year because I thought it would be fun for the kids as well as ease our grocery bill.

    We didn’t realize the full nutritional benefit until we did some research after talking to friends. Lame but true! 😀

    They’re free range but not organic since we feed them tablescraps that aren’t all organic. We love our girls and our pesky rooster.

    • Tracy, that is great. On our run we go past an old farm, but in good shape, it sits on a busy street in St. Louis, that I think was the only thing on that street many years ago. They have 2 blind horses that just wander around the yard but never go into the street, thay also have some chickens and a rooster that just seem to walk all over the place, but they never go into the street, and the rooster never let’s us get close to the chickens.

      • Our chickens go in the street all the time! Thankfully living in a rural area folks slow down for them. They sit on the road because it’s warm. Silly things!

        We’re considering goats in the next year and maybe bees. With 4 kids I need hobbies to keep me busy in all my spare time. :p

Comments are closed.