healthy mind / healthy spirit

Reading is Fundamental

What makes me happy?  Spending time with family, working out, creating things  (either through writing, or making blogs, or designing towels, or drawing, or crafting, or crocheting), listening to music, watching great films, bike riding, and reading (now that I think about it, there are probably about a million things that make me happy, but that’s not the point of this post).

I recently read The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros and I loved it.  I read the book as part of my Sociology of Education class, which is among my most favorite classes ever taken, with one of the best professors I have ever had. Our theme in class this semester is “The Redemptive Exploration of the Possibility of Moral Action in a Violent World”.  As a final project my group created a blog to explore the the role of education in the United States, within the theme of the class.  I am going to post the link to the blog in a day or so and ask if you will comment on one of the posts, but that’s not the point of this blog either.

The point of this post is that The House on Mango Street is what I would call a quiet and unassuming book.  It is short and oh so sweet.  It is so subtle in its extraordinariness that when its truth sneaks up on you it feels like someone has punched you in the stomach – in a good way :).   

Anyway, I want to share two of my favorite quotes from the book in the hope that you might be interested and will read it too.  I think you will love it.

“In English my name means hope. In Spanish it means too many letters. It means sadness, it means waiting. It is like the number nine. A muddy color. It is the Mexican records my father plays on Sunday mornings when he is shaving, songs like sobbing.”  ~Sandra Cisneros (House on Mango Street)
“You can never have too much sky . You can fall asleep and wake up drunk on sky, and sky can keep you safe when you are sad. Here there is too much sadness and not enough sky. Butterflies too are few and so are flowers and most things that are beautiful. Still, we take what we can get and make the best of it.”  ~Sandra Cisneros (House on Mango Street)
 
I actually had a hard time choosing my favorite quotes, on goodreads I posted about 10 of them!  I hope you will take time this weekend to do a little reading, whether is The House on Mango Street or some other book you have set aside.  Get absorbed in your book – life will wait for you.

One thought on “Reading is Fundamental

  1. I always love that you live what you preach! Really!!! Thx for the quotes & I will check this all out more later.

    On the exercise front.. good core & run workout this morn! 🙂

Comments are closed.