Fitness Towels / in the gym / Inperspire

Sometimes you have to look behind you, to understand just how far you’ve come

The inspiration for this two-part post began innocently enough.  In fact, it was born, as most of my ideas, while I was on the treadmill.  Somehow as soon as the belt begins to turn, and my legs, willingly or not, begin to walk, and then run, ideas begin to pop into my head like champagne corks on New Year’s Eve.

As I broke into my run today I glanced down at the towel I had brought with me, Haba na Haba (Little by Little Fills the Cup).  I realized I had not brought this towel to the gym for several months.  Yet, this was the very towel I had brought religiously to the gym at the beginning of my journey to lose weight and get in shape.

Remember, not so long ago, when I weighed 23 lbs more than I do now?  I do.  Haba na Haba (Little by Little) was the mantra that got me through those first difficult months when every step, from merely getting to the gym, to staying on the treadmill for more than 10 minutes, to believing I could actually do it, was like climbing Mt. Everest.  Little by Little was the way I got through each workout — each small step, no matter how small, added to the one before it and the one before that, and the one before that until it eventually filled the entire cup!

As my workout needs evolved, so did my towel choice.   Somedays I bring “Pain is Just Weakness Leaving the Body” and others “Strive for the Summit”.  It just depends on what I need to motivate me that day.

Now, as I near the one year mark, I feel fantastic.  I workout regularly.  I eat good foods in healthy proportions.  I am entering the 4th week of the 100 push up challenge (when I began I couldn’t do even 1 modified push up).  I am happy with myself and my progress.

I needed to take a look back to see how far I’ve come.  I now need a new towel to inspire my new story.  I think I know exactly what I need…

Never Quit

7 thoughts on “Sometimes you have to look behind you, to understand just how far you’ve come

  1. Karma, I LOVED THIS POST!!! I love that new towel saying too! I have to keep saying that to myself because, as you know, the older we get, the harder the bod fights us & yes, sometimes I think just doing nothing might feel good… BUT I know that would not last long & my health is too important to me!

    Saying that, finished off good with decent cardio & great weights!

    Congrats on all you have accomplished!

  2. This is a two part post, I was informed that I would be writing the second part of this post. We have lost some weight, and got back in shape in the past 12 months, and it feels great.

  3. Your blog has been such an inspiration to me! And I thank you for sharing your journey.

    Still struggling to get momentum. Learned today that another former student passed away…she loved art and was only 21. Getting another antibiotic tonight and seeing the doctor again tomorrow.

    I did try Hip Hop Hustle class a week ago and loved it though!

    • Oh, Mary, I am so sorry to hear this news – about your former students – especially – but also that you are not quite recovered yet. You will have to tell me more about hip hop hustle.

  4. Today, thanks to Jimmy being so accommodating to my schedule, I was able to get to Zumba. It was fun, but I need to get to more Zumba classes to build my stamina/strength back up for that kind of work out.

    Tonite I have a terrible headache from getting my exam written in the midst of doing a two hour review. I think it will take a good night’s sleep and then I will be back in action again tomorrow 🙂

Comments are closed.