Meatless Monday / Meatless Monday recipe

Sweet! It’s Meatless Monday!

What is it about this time of year that makes me want to become Martha Stewart, Paula Dean, and Julia Child, all wrapped up into one? 

As the holidays approach I suddenly feel an inexplicable and implusive need to bake cookies, make handmade salted caramels, and create fancy, petite appetizers (all of which I would not normally eat and for which I do not remotely possess the skills to make)!



My current need to bake, combined with my incessant need to read Food Network Magazine this past week, and taken in combination with Meatless Monday, means I have found the perfect recipe for today’s post.  It’s a recipe for eating people (ginger people) rather than animals, so what could be more perfect (a bit irreverent, but I couldn’t resist)?

Perfect Gingerbread Person Recipe

Mix: Sift 3 1/2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon each baking soda and salt, 1 tablespoon ground ginger, 2 teaspoons cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon each ground cloves and allspice into a bowl. In another bowl, mix 6 tablespoons melted butter, 1 tablespoon melted shortening, 2/3 cup light brown sugar and 3/4 cup molasses; beat in 1 egg with a mixer. Beat in the flour mixture in two additions. Divide the dough in half, wrap in plastic and pat to 1/2 inch thick. Chill 2 hours.

Cut: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. On a floured surface, roll out each piece of dough to 1/4 inch thick, dusting with flour, if needed. Cut into 3-to-5-inch gingerbread men and arrange 1 inch apart on parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Brush off excess flour and chill 15 minutes.

Bake: Bake until the cookies are golden around the edges, 10 to 12 minutes. Transfer to a rack and cool, then decorate with Royal Icing.

Royal Icing: Sift 2 tablespoons meringue powder (found in the baking aisle or at crafts stores) and 1 pound confectioners’ sugar into a large bowl. Beat in 6 tablespoons water with a mixer until glossy with soft peaks. Tint with food coloring, if desired.

To Draw: Transfer the icing to a resealable plastic bag; snip the tip of one corner. For dots, hold the bag at a 90 degree angle. For outlines, hold it at a 45 degree angle. Pipe onto the cooled cookies.

To Fill: Draw an outline with the icing, then thin the icing with milk or water until it’s the consistency of glue and spread inside the outline with a paintbrush.


I am making these cookies after I get off work tonite.  I tried to make them last night, but we were missing all of the ingredients except flour, which goes to show you that baking really is a once-a-year thing for me.

If you have baking madness too, check out the Food Network’s 12 Days of Cookies (click on the image):12 Days of Cookies

You can even sign up for a newsletter to get, you guessed it, 12 days of cookie recipes sent via your inbox.

x

Ahh, I love this time of year.

7 thoughts on “Sweet! It’s Meatless Monday!

  1. With my love of cookies, you know this is my kind of post!!! AND I love molasses cookies & gingerbread people (the soft kind) this time of year! Of course I will check out the 12 days of cookies later! 🙂

    All weights today.. yahoo!!!!!!!!!!

  2. gingerbread cookies are one of my favorite. It is such a fattening time of the year however I love all the delish treats lol.

    xo

    oh ps….. I have almost given up meat! I am basically eating chicken only a couple times of the week and my body is loving me for it!

    • Erica – now that news just does my heart good. I am sure you are not missing meat one bit and your friend, the one who adopts the turkeys for you, probably loves you even more :). Congrats on your lifestyle change. We love Fashion meets food :).

  3. I love cookies..but not to many because I know I would be “luggin’ it around” for months..
    Great walk today beautiful day in Seattle with a warm 57degrees(tons of sun).

  4. We are off to the gym, I am not a big fan of going to the gym late in the day, but today we are doing a Boot Camp class at 5:30, and after that I guess we are making cookies.

    Today we had a day much like Seattle did, but our high temp was 18.

  5. Okay, so you know how I said we were making ginger person cookies…well…boot camp put the kibosh on that. We went to boot camp – it was super hard – I think we did a million push ups, burpees, bear crawls, squats, and jumping jacks – a million each! We were so tired afterwards that Jimmy said he didn’t think he could turn the steering wheel on the Jeep in any direction other than right (in Zoolander style). Anyway, there is no way I could make/bake with spaghetti arms. Yikes!

    It was so much fun being in class with Jimmy, who is not a fan of classes. I am proud of him. He tried something new tonite and…well…I hesitate to say he loved it, because it was so hard, but he liked the experience.

    Now, we are drinking hot toddies and watching “Men of a Certain Age” and next up is “Dexter” and the ginger persons are going to have to wait until this week.

  6. I’m nearing the end of term and am slowly getting caught up. This weekend, the boys and I are making a gingerbread house – and, yes, I’m prepared for a full day of cooking and messes:) I’m asking friends who make their own gingerbread creations to send me a picture and I’ll post it on next week’s Tasty Tuesday.

Comments are closed.