healthy spirit

Something Sweet for your Saturday

A little Yin and Yang and some sweet, spiced coffee for your Saturday :).  I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but Jimmy is preparing it for me tonite so that it will be ready by the time I comment tomorrow.  I have been looking forward to it since I saw it in my Shape Magazine

Spiced Iced Coffee
In a large pitcher add 6 cups of coffee, 1 tsp almond extract, 2 cinnamon sticks, 1/3 cup Sugar in the Raw, and 2 cups milk.  Refrigerate for 2 hours (I am refrigerating overnight).  Pour over ice to serve.

It seems simple and oh so sweet.  I was thinking a little silence might add to the sweetness of the coffee.  Anyone up for a little quiet time?  Take 5, maybe 10 minutes of silence (no talking, no texting, no writing, no tv, no iPods, no reading).  Just you and your coffee.  Just sipping and silence.  Sounds pretty good doesn’t it? 

Let us be silent, that we may hear the whispers of the gods. 
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I will let you know how my silence and my spiced coffee turn out – this may become a weekend tradition.

5 thoughts on “Something Sweet for your Saturday

  1. Silence is golden! 🙂 And that coffee looks divine!

    Was in the gym this morn. Lots of rain here so no outside run this weekend plus due to the back thing, i can’t run anyway. Switched Sunday to Saturday due to a family thing Sunday plus my back needed the sweat & rehab…

    Go for more of that you & silent time!

    • Plus, I also heard that California is going to get even more rain tomorrow and possibly snow. We need you to stay away from anything slippery so you can heal.

  2. This sounds so great. You know how much I love spice coffee. Next visit Jimmy you have to do the same for me. The quiet time may never happen, but a good thought.

    Cold here today but much better than the last few. Some shopping left to do yet. I WILL be done in time for Christmas. Have a good coffee day all. Momb

  3. M – You will love this coffee. It is sweet just like you like it. I thought the almond extract was a bit too much, so I would definitely cut it down to 1/2 tsp. I also think it needs more spice – like it could have used more cinnamon sticks – maybe some cardamon. It really was good though and was simple to make.

    The silence was golden :).

Comments are closed.