healthy mind

Something different…

I read Shogun many years ago and fell in love with it. 

Maybe some of you have seen the miniseries with Richard Chamberlain, which, if you have, will certainly date you (and me). 

Over the holidays I had the great idea that our entire family should read Shogun by James Clavell and then meet weekly for a book club discussion.  My idea was met with groans from Robbie and Jimmy, because I am constantly trying to get them to do one book club or another, but, Tricia said, “Yay, that would be fun” (I knew I could count on her). 

In the end I talked Jimmy into reading Shogun together – to each other.  I think having someone read to you is just so comforting.  In fact, Robbie and Tricia have read entire classics to one another.

So we started Shogun three nights ago.  The prologue is pretty long, but I knew Jimmy would like it because it is about sailing and Captain-Pilot Blackthorne’s journey.  Last night we started the first chapter where Blackthorne finds himself in Japan (a place, which in the 1600s, was known (in the sense of actually being there) to the Spaniards and Portugese because they were the best sailors at that time and were able to navigate the waters).  It is so much fun to read to one another that last night, when we knew we should be asleep, we kept saying, “Okay, read just one more page.”

Anyway, I thought maybe some of you might want to try reading a book with a friend, loved one, etc.  Many of us have not been read to since we were very young and there is just something so wonderful about hearing a story read aloud to you.   It makes your mind think and imagine in different ways.  It is something different to share – different than watching TV or a movie or talking about what happened in the news or at work.

For those interested in reading Shogun, here is an excerpt from the back of the jacket:

 A bold English adventurer. An invincible Japanese warlord. A beautiful woman torn between two ways of life, two ways of love. All brought together in a mighty saga of a time and place aflame with conflict, passion, ambition, lust and the struggle for power.

I think it is going to take us awhile to finish this book, which has 1210 pages, but I am looking forward to the journey.

Exercise your mind and body,

8 thoughts on “Something different…

  1. What a great idea, cheap and inspiring!

    yesterday: 5+miles: check; arm weights: check; eating less than I burn off: not so much. Oh well!

  2. Read the book also many–many years ago and also seen the movie. loved them both. I enjoyed them so much. Would love to share reading with someone, but can’t get him to sit long enough. ha
    Maybe Karma you could read to me over the phone!

    Been doing our exercise by lifting boxes in the basement, trying to get things set up for a garage sale. Still can’t do much walking but getting a start. Maybe the Dr. will give me the ok in a few more weeks. If you haven’t read Shogun, give it a try, you will enjoy it. Good day to everyone… M

    • Who can’t sit long enough, Dano or Dad? Now, you know I would love to read to you over the phone, but you would have to stay up late at night since that is when I get started with my reading :).

      Do you think you should maybe do some arm exercises and maybe abs until your foot is better enough to really walk?

  3. We went to the gym today to do Zumba (at least I did) but we ended up doing hip hop fusion. The instructor was very good and I liked her, but I do not like hip hop fusion. It is like all the steps I taught in the late 80’s and 90’s. 10,000 yuks! I have to find a Zumba class.

    After class, because I didn’t work very hard, I jumped on the stair climber for 10 minutes, then we did weights and abs. I worked pretty hard and I am happy with that.

  4. I love the reading it is like going to a movie, because of my crazy education, I never read Shogun, but I can sure tell you about sailing, or anything about the beaches of Florida and California.

    Had a good workout at the gym today, mixed it up with weights, treadmill, cybex and crunches.

Comments are closed.