making healthy changes

Did you know…

that the UN has designated 2011 as the International Year of Forests

I found this out via the A.Word.A.Day newsletter I get each day in my inbox.  This week’s theme was words related to trees and plants: dendroid, ligneous, primrose path, sylvan, and wormwood.

If you were unaware of the International Year of Forests, like me, here is information from the website:

The International Year of Forests 2011 celebrates the central role of people in the sustainable management, conservation and sustainable development of our world’s forests…forests provide shelter to people and habitat to biodiversity; are a source of food, medicine and clean water; and play a vital role in maintaining a stable global climate and environment. All of these elements taken together reinforce the message that forests are vital to the survival and well being of people everywhere, all 7 billion of us.

You can learn more by clicking on the International Year of Forests 2011 image or one of the links.  It is a nice way to honor that which gives us so much in return and important for helping remind us all how much we need our forests.

Have a happy Saturday and breathe deeper thanks to all the trees!

7 thoughts on “Did you know…

  1. I love trees and the forests. St. Louis has a ton of big Oak Trees, we have two huge one’s in our front yard, and we love them.

    Off to the gym, report back soon.

  2. I too love the trees. With all the mountains around us, we have all kinds. I would love someone to trim our maple in the front yard. Can’t see the street or anything else during the summer. But I can breath better because of the oxygen…and in the winter they have frost all over them and are beautiful.

    Momb

  3. We need someone to trim your maple and our big ol’ oaks :).

    We just got back from the gym. Even with my shin splints on my left leg, I felt good on the treadmill today. Afterwards we did abs and push ups. It is cold but bright and sunny in the Lou today.

  4. I spent 8 years in Kansas and learned to appreciate open spaces, but always, always missed walking thru a forest.

    Yesterday, I managed 3 miles, which is 60% of my goal, which is a lot better than throwing in the towel (since we’re on the inperspire blog!). Today I haven’t done much. But I always preach to my students that everyone, regardless of your faith tradition, needs a sabbath. Rest, flow, don’t work. So i have decided to practice what i preach and give myself the day off either Saturday or Sunday. This week it is Saturday. no goals for the day. anything I do is just gravy!

    • There is something special about the forest, almost that feeling of being in a secret space, which I am sure sounds a bit crazy, as you walk surrounded by the trees with only the canopy above.

      So I love your use of “throwing in the towel”! I think I may have to use that for some upcoming blog.

      I think I should start thinking in percentages…I told Jimmy that saying you are at 60% of your goal is the scientist coming out in you :).

      I agree that a day of rest is SO important. It’s funny that most (if not all?) religions prescribe a day of rest…never thought about that before.

Comments are closed.