Inperspire / making healthy changes

A Guest Post – Yahoo!

 I was fishing for Karma to congratulate me on the fact that I have been walking three miles with weights almost every weekday morning.  She did congratulate me…and then she asked me to write a post, so here it is. 

First of all, it is a miracle that I’m exercising almost every day.  Here’s why:

1)  I am NOT a morning person.  Really, really not a morning person, and unfortunately, I also LOATHE exercise for its own sake.  I either have to do it first thing in the morning, when I’m still too asleep to fully object to wasting my time on such a tedious activity, or it has to be a social thing.  I can actually work out with a friend, but I’m a working mom with younger kids.  No way a daily workout time with a friend is going to fit in, even if I had a friend that nutty.

2)  I will never join a gym.  We’re eccentric, and only have one car.  Which is normal in NY, but I live in flyover country.  Even if I probably would make friends at the gym, I’m not going to be able to carve out time and get dibs on the car for going to a gym daily or even every other day. 

3)   I don’t like dance and aerobics classes.  I always feel uncoordinated — which is not a mood elevator, I assure you!

Despite ALL these barriers between me and daily exercise, I’ve finally found something that is working a lot of the time: 

I found a Leslie Sansone Walk at Home video.

The video is low impact and the steps are so simple that even I don’t find it intimidating or confusing.  Which is saying something, believe me. 

Plus if you did find one of Leslie’s steps a little hard, she reiterates over and over that you should adapt the workout for whatever works for you: 

“You don’t have to do these exact steps, just keep up the pace, and this is so good for you!” 

I started with a compilation DVD that has two one-mile and three two-mile walks on it.  I’ve now worked up to a 3-mile walk in 40 minutes (Leslie’s Three Fast Miles ), and believe me, by a mile in, I am sweating.  This DVD works for me because:

1)  Even though I’m not a morning person, I can just roll out of bed and do my walk right away. I walk inside, so no complicated dressing for the weather.  I actually set up the DVD player with the disc the night before.  (My girlfriend who gave me the first Leslie Sansone DVD as a gift says she just gets up and walks in her nightgown!)

2)  I don’t need room to store (or money to buy) any expensive equipment.  My house does not have room for a treadmill.

3)  Leslie is so encouraging.  Her walkers on the video have a range of body types — they are fit but not all skinny.  She constantly reminds you to do what you can and work up to the rest.  Or to do back to marching in place if you find a step confusing.  I never feel like I’m too uncoordinated to keep up. 

Plus, you can play a DVD on most laptops, so it is easy to take to a hotel, or even to work (which I did at lunch one day when we had to leave early one morning.) 

If you don’t have access to a computer at work that plays a DVD, you can actually watch a 20-minute webcast of a short Leslie workout on ExerciseTV.  (Which is a website, not a TV station.) 

As funny and apt as the “No Excuses” Nike commercial is, the truth is most of us have to figure out what will really work for us day in, day out.  I encourage you to keep trying to find your method — if I can come up with one, with enough tinkering, anyone can!

Thanks to Carolyn for that inspirational and realistic post! 

It’s so true, and she is so right, we have to find what works for us over the long haul.  There are no cookie-cutter solutions.  If you haven’t found what works for you, why not try the walking video that is working for Carolyn (and it really is working for her – you should see how fabulous she looks – and feels) or keeping tinkering until you do.  It is definitely worth it.

Have a wild and wonderful Wednesday,

x

7 thoughts on “A Guest Post – Yahoo!

  1. Good for you, yes we can all find excuses. Someone that I know likes to use the it’s too cold to exercise, now I warm the car up and we workout inside of a gym.

    I became a big fan of finding excuses, I found so many that I found myself at 210 pounds, now no more excuses and I am at 183 pounds. The trick is finding what works for you.

  2. Love this post Carolyn. I liked your honesty about exercise, it is hard. I will pass this information onto my husband, who travels alot, he can use this when the hotels do not have a workout facility. Thanks!!!

  3. Okay, I love this post because someone else wrote it — but I also love it because it’s “For Real” and I mean “For Real Real” (as my students would say). After “Basement Bootcamp” it would have been easy for Carolyn to give up exercise, but every time I saw her she would tell me how she has incorporated walking and weights into her busy life. I think hearing this makes me almost as happy as it makes you, Carolyn.

    So for those of you out there who may not like the gym, or detest exercise (and there are many people who do), give the walking video a try. In fact, I think I know someone in Salt Lake who might enjoy this!

    I haven’t been feeling well for several weeks, but I finally broke down and went to the “Take Care” at Walgreens and got some anitbiotics and I am happy to say that I am finally on the road to recovery.

    I did the treadmill at the gym for 45 minutes and then did the Les Miles Body Pump class. Jimmy did it with me – we loved it. I did not put a lot of weight on my bar – I wanted to learn the format of the class first – but I think I am still going to be feeling it tomorrow :). That’s a nice feeling.

  4. Ok—–got the hint about someone in Salt Lake. I did watch some of the video and guess I could do a little bit of walking at home. I would much rather walk in the park tho. I sure need to do something.

    • But be sure you know the hint was that you could do the video at home and not stress your foot too much by trying to walk in the park – I know you miss walking and this could help you get better until you can walk in the park :). Your new PC must be good – you even previewed the video. Yay!

Comments are closed.