food diary / Gym Towel

Valentine’s Day Candy Breakdown…

brought to you by FitSugar.  I thought it might be helpful to make the best choices (not eating 3 or 4 deliciously iced cupcakes or a whole bag of heart Candy Corns) tomorrow, on one of the sweetest days of the year

Of course, I am not saying not to indulge. 

I am happy to report that I am an advocate of indulging, but there is a difference between indulging and over-indulging.  And…if you do end up over-indulging…I say enjoy it, don’t obsess about it, you can make up for it over the next few days.  It’s no biggie. 

Life’s too short to worry about eating more Hershey’s kisses or cookies than is probably good for us :).

The best way to prevent weight gain (and an awful sugar high) is to know the nutritional info of your favorite edible pleasures. I made a handy chart to help you out, so read more. 

Candy

Calories

Fat (g) Sat Fat (g) Carbs (g) Sugars (g) Protein (g)
Hershey’s Kisses (9 pieces) 230 12 7 25 23 3
Hershey’s Solid Milk Chocolate Be My Valentine Kiss
(1/5 of 1.4 oz. package)
210 12 8 23 20 3
Hershey’s Valentine Marshmallow Heart (2.2 oz.) 240 7 4.5 44 35 3
Hershey’s Special Dark Hearts
(5 pieces)
220 12 7 25 21 2
Reese’s Peanut Butter Heart (snack size) 170 10 3.5 19 8 4
Dove Dark Chocolate Hearts
(5 pieces)
210 13 8 24 19 2
Box of Godiva Chocolates
(4 pieces)
210 12 7 24 21 3
Russell Stover Box of Chocolates
(2 pieces)
150 6 4 24 20 1
Conversation Hearts
(12 pieces)
60 0 0 15 14 0
Pink Candy Corns (26) 140 0 0 36 28 0
Heart-Shaped Sugar Cookie With Icing 139 6.7 4.1 18.7 12.8 1.9
Valentine’s Day Cupcake (Vanilla With Buttercream Frosting)

Have a love-filled day and remember that it’s Monday (Meatless Monday) so give your heart a gift by going meatless!

7 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Candy Breakdown…

  1. Happy V-Day to you! I started it right with my all weight workout & really don’t plan to do anything but eat like I normally do! I had my treat cookies over the weekend so I am fine! 🙂

  2. You know how to spoil all my fun with the eating of the candy or any kind of sweets. Just kidding, I still had a few brownies and just a little bit of candy.

    Did a lot of shopping which required walking around a bunch today. Didn’t get to go to walk the park much, but watched Dad and Dano. My foot is a bit swollen still, so it will have to wait until after Wednesday.

    HAPPY VALENTINES TO EVERYONE

  3. And here is something to add to the candy break down, Trader Joe’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups: 3 pieces, 200 calories. I’ve had more than is normal or good for a person in the last two days :).

Comments are closed.