workout wednesday

Here Comes the Sun

…and I said, it’s all right.

Today is Workout Wednesday, so what better day to post a challenging morning workout?  

The Sun Salutation is a workout for true warriors – meditation warriors. 

If you read this post regularly you know Jimmy and I often talk about stretching, and trying yoga, but somehow we never quite get around to doing either.  Tomorrow, however, is a new day!  

Starting tomorrow morning we will do Sun Salutation A (until we can learn the entire Sun Salutation) each morning for one week (we always start small with our goals and then go large).  Doing Sun Salutation A may sound easy to you, but it will not be easy for us. 

Want to join us?  We think you should.  Don’t be afraid — we are in this together. 

To get started here is a very clear template for doing Sun Salutation A.  I got it from FitSugar.  I put the Sun Salutation photos and steps into a pdf for easy use. 

Dr. Oz also did a wonderful piece on how important the Sun Salutation is to him and how it helps him to be fit and stress free.  Here is the link to his post: Dr. Oz’s Guide to Yoga.

Jimmy and I will report on our experience (btw, Jimmy doesn’t know he is doing this yet).  I hope you join us!

Just think…one week to peace, salvation, and greater flexibility – ahhhhhhhhh – or should I say ommmmmmm?

I end this post with the song lyrics I began with, please sing along with me…

Here comes the sun, here comes the sun,
and I say it’s all right

Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter
Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
and I say it’s all right

Little darling, the smiles returning to the faces
Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
and I say it’s all right

Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…

Little darling, I feel that ice is slowly melting
Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been clear
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun,
and I say it’s all right
It’s all right.

Now, don’t you feel better?  Have a bright and sunny day!

7 thoughts on “Here Comes the Sun

  1. I did the Sun Salutation today before we went running, and I think that it helped my mind and body. I am going to try and do this everyday, and add on to it.

  2. Oh, Jody…let me tell you…the Sun Salutation was hard for us, but we enjoyed the challenge. I think this is going to be the very thing we need. I am really excited about it. Tonite we are going to go through the moves so it flows better. I used to do so much stretching when I danced and I had forgotten how good it can feel (when you are not tight from not stretching). After the SS we went for a run and ended with abs, push ups, and squats.

  3. I’ve been singing “Here comes the sun” all morning. I would think that the yoga bit would do me some good if I didn’t break in half.
    I’ll give it a try one day. Maybe next Wed.

    Went dog walking early but there was not any sunshine. It’s 1:30 p.m now and finally SUN. see ya. M.

  4. I wish we had sun to do the salutation. I love the song and may try this a bit later. Great cardio for Greg and me today, I am exhausted and pushed it really hard today!

  5. I really like this!

    I’ve been doing a short yoga practice every morning anyway, and have recently been using the sun salutation sequence more frequently as an early morning energizer.

    My favorite is to do the salutations outside at sunrise!

Comments are closed.